Elite Dangerous Review

How hard is it to control ships in Elite Dangerous?

33
ChefTicles (after 6 days 14 hours play time)

38 days ago

Pretty intuitive and not too difficult. I use an Xbox One controller, didn't take me long to get to grips with the controls.

12
Premchand (after 7 days 3 hours play time)

131 days ago

It can be challenging in the beginning. But everyone can pick up the game and start flying

5
juliemeowmers (after 9 days 21 hours play time)

108 days ago

Hard as heck at first to a new comer but you get used to it fairly quick.

316 days ago

very hard, u can spent months training ur skills, but u can just fly way faster ;)

1
RancidHeart (after 10 days 13 hours play time)

189 days ago

You have to spend some time learning the controls, but once you do, is easier. Take the time to figure it out, do the training modules, then go do stuff 'n things. I mapped my two Thrustmaster t.16000m sticks. It's what i prefer. I guess for ergonomics.

Lido200 (after 5 days 15 hours play time)

188 days ago

It can be hard at first but the controls become more natural after playing for a while. A joystick is very helpful,

SpriggsyUK (after 8 hours play time)

183 days ago

it seems to vary person to person, a few friends have tried playing the game whilst at my house and marvel at my flying, then they take a turn and crash into an asteroid. A HOTAS setup helps but isn't required as I played most of the first stage of beta M+K.

gabyhayes (after 4 days 8 hours play time)

310 days ago

Very Hard. for combat but other parts are easy except for docking it can be tricky with out a standard docking computer.

12
AndyMeFul (after 20 hours play time)

168 days ago

You can fly with W,S and the mouse if you want to keep it simple (good luck docking though).

You'll need to get used to using A,D,Q,E,R,F if you want to fly "properly".

8
Dipso (after 64 days 5 hours play time)

182 days ago

I'd say its challenging, but rewarding. :D

BuyAGlock (after 1 day 10 hours play time)

167 days ago

Not bad but you need a HOTAS set-up and time to map the button so that it will work for your specific set-up.

avatar

You

Now

How much fun are battles in Elite Dangerous?

1
RancidHeart (after 10 days 13 hours play time)

189 days ago

It's a blast. It also gets easier when you learn the weaknesses of other ships. Like the Anaconda's thrusters suck. Stay behind it or underneath. And toggle your flight assist.

12
AndyMeFul (after 20 hours play time)

168 days ago

Awesome

5
juliemeowmers (after 9 days 21 hours play time)

108 days ago

Not much. I avoid them. It's more like being an airplane fighter pilot, having to aim your ship at the other ship seems tedious to me. Especially with other real players that move around a lot. Not my cuppa. I'd rather go exploring.

juliemeowmers Avatar
5
juliemeowmers(13 days 4 hours played)
3 Months ago
I mainly fly a topped out Cobra.
1
Lido200 (after 5 days 15 hours play time)

188 days ago

A ton of fun

SpriggsyUK (after 8 hours play time)

183 days ago

battle's in elite vary dependent on your ship and the opponent's, it also depends on how upgraded your ship is. Taking on a elite ranked NPC with an upgraded viper is fun but also can turn into a war of attrition if you're not setup right, but when you get that perfect setup you will feel all powerful.....for a moment then you'll probably get too big for your boots take on too many guys and die in a fiery death. Taking on other player's is a whole other ball game but the CQC arena is a blast and a good way of easing into PvP combat in open.

33
ChefTicles (after 6 days 14 hours play time)

38 days ago

Battling the AI gets dull pretty quickly, better to seek a human opponent.

8
Dipso (after 64 days 5 hours play time)

182 days ago

Challenging and fun if you push your limits.

avatar

You

Now

How open is Elite Dangerous to explore?

12
AndyMeFul (after 20 hours play time)

168 days ago

Ok, there isn't 18,446,744,073,709,551,616 planets but there are a lot.. Many systems too.

1
RancidHeart (after 10 days 13 hours play time)

189 days ago

I put my name on a few stars and planets. Didn't go far either. Space is fairly big.

Lido200 (after 5 days 15 hours play time)

188 days ago

The map is literally a scale model of our own galaxy (Milky Way)
You can explore wherever you want as long as your ship is capable of large frame shift jumps.

8
Dipso (after 64 days 5 hours play time)

182 days ago

Immense

33
ChefTicles (after 6 days 14 hours play time)

38 days ago

Unbelievably so.

SpriggsyUK (after 8 hours play time)

183 days ago

It's the milky way so it's massive, the longest trip I've taken was from sol to the horse head nebula which is around 1500ly away from earth.

avatar

You

Now

Have you found any strategies for making money in Elite Dangerous?

1
RancidHeart (after 10 days 13 hours play time)

189 days ago

No. I don't enjoy grinding. So i just play the game and do lots of different things. Also, when bounty hunting, i use a cheaper ship so it doesn't cost millions to get my ship back.

SpriggsyUK (after 8 hours play time)

183 days ago

in the last few month's since the missions got updated I've been playing as a courier for different factions within the game which if you take on a few at every station you visit can be rather lucrative, I offset this with some light bounty hunting and a bit of trade too.

8
Dipso (after 64 days 5 hours play time)

182 days ago

Don't get caught in the grind. Do what you want in the moment, set your own goals for your character. The money will come on its own.

Dipso Avatar
8
Dipso(74 days 22 hours played)
6 Months ago
Oh and participate in community goals! :D
1
5
juliemeowmers (after 9 days 21 hours play time)

108 days ago

Yes. Several, and none of them require violence, or the use of slaves.

33
ChefTicles (after 6 days 14 hours play time)

38 days ago

Bounty hunting around extraction zones in planetary rings.

avatar

You

Now

How well does Elite Dangerous let you develop your character?

1
RancidHeart (after 10 days 13 hours play time)

189 days ago

It doesn't... physically... yet. But the factions remember you for who you are and what you do. It's good there.

8
Dipso (after 64 days 5 hours play time)

182 days ago

Its slowly expanding in that respect. Right now you can increase your ranking in Trade, Exploration and Combat. You can rank up with the major factions int he game (Empire/Alliance/Federation) and you can take missions for local factions and increase your reputation with them for better missions and to influence their state and standing.

There is also powerplay, but i don't recommend taking part in that until they give it a makeover.

Later this year you will get the commander creator that lets you finally create a face for your commander.

5
juliemeowmers (after 9 days 21 hours play time)

108 days ago

Not much. I have noticed tho, as a female player, if I look downward, while moving into a higher gear drive, I see boobs. So that's pretty cool continuity, with my menu settings.

There are a bunch of us scattered around. One lady has one of the more popular Elite pages on twitch. Didn't really care much to remember her name though. I found her kind of aggressive for my tastes, which is probably why she's popular. lol

-CMDR Julie Marie Brown - RPG'er, Explorer, Trader, occasional asteroid miner.

33
ChefTicles (after 6 days 14 hours play time)

38 days ago

Character development is all in your head...Unfortunately.

SpriggsyUK (after 8 hours play time)

183 days ago

I mean in game not even slightly at the moment but if your like me you'll probably create your Commanders back story as you fly.

avatar

You

Now

Have you come up with any clever strategies in Elite Dangerous?

SpriggsyUK (after 8 hours play time)

183 days ago

not especially, I do like to dive bomb bounties in asteroid belts and fire a salvo of rocket's and cannons which can take some target's out pretty quick

5
juliemeowmers (after 9 days 21 hours play time)

108 days ago

Transporting rare items far distances, but my main source of income is thoroughly exploring every system I go through. I have a lot of patience and a lot of good rock music. :-P Usually stay out a few days real time. Probably like 12 hours totally, and come back making a few million.

There are probably better, quicker ways, but this suites me fine, thus far. :-) Looks like with the newly added transport missions, they basically give you a slightly more structured way to do exactly that.

1
RancidHeart (after 10 days 13 hours play time)

189 days ago

No. Bounty hunting is the funnest way to make money. Right now, even though I'm in the Alliance, I want a Federal Assault ship. So I'm bounty hunting in Federal space and choosing Federal side in Conflict Zones and taking Federation missions.

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a Elite Dangerous sale?

8
Dipso (after 64 days 5 hours play time)

182 days ago

If you are uncertain, buy the base game first, its a lot of game for a cheap price. If you get bitten by the bug; buy horizons.

11
@iamgingerbear (after 17 days play time)

130 days ago

Yes, absolutely. I've gotten a lot of mileage out of the money I have spent on the game and there is lots of new and interesting things on the way. There is a lot to the game although sometimes it can feel empty if you don't quite understand everything that's going on. I'm over 600 hours in the game and I'm still learning new things.

1
RancidHeart (after 10 days 13 hours play time)

189 days ago

Even today, full price. Actually, i did buy again, for a friend. He was debating getting the game, so i just got it for him. He needs some sort of HOTAS though.

SpriggsyUK (after 8 hours play time)

183 days ago

I bought it for £50 to get premium beta, and purchased the horizons expansion for £40 so I'd say yes.

12
AndyMeFul (after 20 hours play time)

168 days ago

I paid full price for the base game and I don't regret it. Unlike a more recent space title..

avatar

You

Now

Would you back another game by Frontier Developments?

8
Dipso (after 64 days 5 hours play time)

182 days ago

Yes. Planet Coaster looks like a lot of fun, and im sure some of the tech in that game is going to find its way into Elite at some point. (Like crowds for stations etc...)

5
juliemeowmers (after 9 days 21 hours play time)

108 days ago

Sure.

SpriggsyUK (after 8 hours play time)

183 days ago

In a heart beat

1
RancidHeart (after 10 days 13 hours play time)

189 days ago

Maybe. I'm not really into Planet Coaster... I do own an Oculus Rift though. Maybe I should give it a shot.

avatar

You

Now

How has Frontier Developments delivered on their crowdfunding goals?

1
RancidHeart (after 10 days 13 hours play time)

189 days ago

I'm sure they are or will deliver everything promissed. I think the game is amazing. As I'm sure Star Citizen will be. I spent more money on Star Citizen. Right now i think Elite is better.

avatar

You

Now

How much freedom does Elite Dangerous give you?

SpriggsyUK (after 8 hours play time)

183 days ago

the game allows you to do whatever you want from the start so yes I'd say so.

12
AndyMeFul (after 20 hours play time)

168 days ago

When you start you are quite literally given the keys to a spaceship equivalent of a Vauxhall Nova and then thrown out into space. There are some basic on screen prompts but then you're on your own.

There are optional training missions though, I definitely recommend those.

1
RancidHeart (after 10 days 13 hours play time)

189 days ago

They are very connected to the community. Even taking community events ideas and putting them in the game. Stay connected the Elite Dangerous forums and news stuffs. It'll keep you interested.

avatar

You

Now

Does the setting of Elite Dangerous feel original?

1
RancidHeart (after 10 days 13 hours play time)

189 days ago

Deffinately yes... mostly. Some of the ships look like they were taken from Star Wars, but... wicked geniuses at Frontier.

SpriggsyUK (after 8 hours play time)

183 days ago

it does, it borrow's some elements of sci-fi that have become common place but overall it feels original.

5
juliemeowmers (after 9 days 21 hours play time)

108 days ago

It just feels like it's largely based on reality, which I like. I think it's a bit preposterous to travel thousands of lightyears in every direction and find so much nothing. I don't think that's realistic. But still.. spaces out the truely exciting discoveries in a way that's still entertaining for a ship with such an insane range compared to reality.

If we really covered all the same space in real life, that has been explored in game, we'd have found a dozen alien civilizations by now.

avatar

You

Now

How does Elite Dangerous compare to other MMOs?

125
Richie Shoemaker (after 2 days 2 hours play time)

563 days ago

Regardless of what you want from an MMOG and what criteria you judge them by, it's probably a little misleading to compare Elite: Dangerous to the likes of Eve Online. For one thing it's not the most massively-multiplayer online game out there, with players able to shutter themselves away into limited friends-only or solo instances, while able to still ghost around what is only a single universe game in terms of trade prices and and community goals. It's probably better to think of Elite: Dangerous as having four player co-op, with drop-in/drop-out multiplayer enemies and a few meta-features on the side. In short, it's not New Eden.

316 days ago

do not think about it like a MMO think about it like a solo game where u can encounter other real players

gabyhayes (after 4 days 8 hours play time)

310 days ago

Don't play Elite Dangerous multi player muchjust a couple hours with a friend. I play solo 99% of the time. Have played Eve Online and didn't like it.Other MMOs I've played are first person or third person like Division have less of a learning curve.

1
RancidHeart (after 10 days 13 hours play time)

189 days ago

It's creepy that this Web site knows how much I play this game. Elite Dangerous is the best space sim experience out right now. Star Citizen is awesome too, but lacks the peripheral support I use. Love my dual joysticks. No Man's Sky is... relaxing; maybe something to play when you do mushrooms. Elite is what you're looking for in a space civilization game. If it's missing something, sounds like it's coming... like free roaming outside your ship. I'd love though, GTA in space... And some mechs too. Although aliens will be awesome, I'm hoping they wait to add them until Earth-like worlds are landable. Roaming the streets then... Aaaaahh! Invasion. Pew, pew! Explosions! Get back in your ship and defend the colony!

5
juliemeowmers (after 9 days 21 hours play time)

108 days ago

I forget that it is one, quite often. I hardly ever see another real player.

SpriggsyUK (after 8 hours play time)

183 days ago

I've never thought of it as an MMO, yes it's multiplayer but it just never gave me the same feel as other MMO's such as EVE or WoW do but I can't really explain why.

juliemeowmers Avatar
5
juliemeowmers(13 days 4 hours played)
3 Months ago
Cause your chatbox isn't overflowing with vulgarities and real world politics? lol
1
avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Elite Dangerous?

125
Richie Shoemaker (after 2 days 2 hours play time)

564 days ago

Considering how poor the medium of space is at conducting sound, Frontier has done a brilliant job of tickling your brain via your ears.
There are of course plenty of standard-issue sci-fi effects to take in; beeps, boops, zaps, hums and background static, all of which is expertly crafted and delightfully subtle. There are however one or two areas where the sound design borders on genius; an example being the throbbing and whining of your ship as it strains to accelerate, and later on, when under attack, as faint metallic groans work to ensure you can feel the bulkheads buckling all around you.
Probably even more than the cockpit interiors, the sounds of your ship work to reinforce the fact that your vessel is you both your armour and your tomb as you navigate the most hostile environment humans are ever likely to endure.

bryant Avatar
167
bryant(2 days 15 hours played)
1 Year ago
The sound in Elite Dangerous is by far, IMO, it's best feature. Outstanding.
1
5
juliemeowmers (after 9 days 21 hours play time)

108 days ago

Great. I like em just fine. :-)

1
RancidHeart (after 10 days 13 hours play time)

189 days ago

I love the sounds. Explosions are boomy, engines are wurry (amd different for each ship), and there's a lot of creepy sounds to just to freak you out. However... in reality, there's no sound in space... I think.

SpriggsyUK (after 8 hours play time)

183 days ago

the sound design is magnificent, by far the best sound design in a game. The sound of the viper as it flies past is possibly the best engine sound for a spaceship ever.

12
AndyMeFul (after 20 hours play time)

168 days ago

WubWubWubWubWub .. Frame shift drive charging .. 4, 3, 2, 1 Engaged ... Brilliant!

avatar

You

Now

How does Elite Dangerous run on your PC?

gabyhayes (after 4 days 8 hours play time)

310 days ago

Very Well.

1
RancidHeart (after 10 days 13 hours play time)

189 days ago

Great. But i spent a lot of money and time building it, and upgrading it, and tuning it, and keeping it clean.

SpriggsyUK (after 8 hours play time)

183 days ago

runs like a dream across the two PC's I've owned since premium beta

12
AndyMeFul (after 20 hours play time)

168 days ago

Flawless on a 980Ti, i7 4700K .. wouldn't expect much less though.

5
juliemeowmers (after 9 days 21 hours play time)

108 days ago

I only have a built in video card. It runs well enough on 32 bit. Occasionally it freezes up while I'm going in and out of a docking port. That rarely turns out well.

juliemeowmers Avatar
5
juliemeowmers(13 days 4 hours played)
3 Months ago
If I'm playing with anyone, they're like "omg wtf is wrong with you, can't you fly?!" lol Really conducive to wanting to play with them again. ;-)
1
avatar

You

Now

How good is the Mac port of Elite Dangerous?

1
RancidHeart (after 10 days 13 hours play time)

189 days ago

I'm with GIR. "I don't know. "

SpriggsyUK (after 8 hours play time)

183 days ago

no idea, never owned a mac

8
Dipso (after 64 days 5 hours play time)

182 days ago

Until apple starts supporting Open GL properly, its never going to see horizons released on it.

4

116 days ago

My older iMac (2011) runs it, just. But its under the minimum standard so its not surprising. I reduce the screen res and get playable FPS in space around 60, but with great reductions in space stations. I recommend buying a docking computer for those with similar specced computers, so that any drops in FPS don't mean you crash! One big disappointment is that Horizons is not supported on Macs.

JazHaz Avatar
4
3 Months ago
My Mac's spec is 2.7ghz Intel Core i5, 4gb ram, and AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512mb graphics. So not quite good enough for Elite. I spend a lot of time mining and exploring, which doesn't push the computer too hard.
1
gabyhayes (after 4 days 8 hours play time)

310 days ago

Don't have a Mac. Own a Alienware Alpha.

12
AndyMeFul (after 20 hours play time)

168 days ago

A what?

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Elite Dangerous?

SpriggsyUK (after 8 hours play time)

183 days ago

they are beautiful. The ship's are gorgeous even the ones that are essentially a space transit van.

12
AndyMeFul (after 20 hours play time)

168 days ago

Very detailed, I could not believe how detailed my ship was when went into free camera while docked the other night.

1
RancidHeart (after 10 days 13 hours play time)

189 days ago

With my PC, amazing. Don't try and set the game to something your computer can't handle. It'll be amazing for you too.

avatar

You

Now

Why do gamers stop playing Elite Dangerous after a short period

SpriggsyUK (after 8 hours play time)

183 days ago

I didn't that's just how long I used the steam version I'd say I'm about 1000+ hours in with the normal download as I purchased it before premium beta.

juliemeowmers Avatar
5
juliemeowmers(13 days 4 hours played)
3 Months ago
Probably, beause there's no plot and no real characters. Right now it's good for people that look shooting things, or explorers, or just hanging with their friends. It's a game entirely made of radiant missions, when you think about it. It's a great platform though, if somebody wants to come along and write an actual game to use it on.
1

Why do gamers keep coming back to Elite Dangerous

gabyhayes (after 4 days 8 hours play time)

310 days ago

I love Space Sims I played the first Elite when it came out.

11
@iamgingerbear (after 17 days play time)

130 days ago

Trying to solve the mysteries of the game is a really compelling part of it. Look up unknown probes/artefacts or jaques station, just two things that are big at the time of me posting this.
It's slow but it feels like you are part of a big, big universe, expansions happen, systems are fought over, rare things are found, there is a lot of things that just keep reminding me how much I love the game.
The best bit by far though is just being able to look at the galaxy map and be able to travel pretty much anywhere on there, excluding permit locked zones and stars that are a considerable distance from any other star. It's gorgeous.

5
juliemeowmers (after 9 days 21 hours play time)

108 days ago

The possibility of finding some new unique world. I've found a handfull that I only saw once and first discovered. One had amonia based life and looked like a willy wonka planet, with shiny chocolate oceans.

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions