Eve Online Review

How hard is it to make money in Eve Online?

2
Ulli (after 1 day 5 hours play time)

582 days ago

In high sec it is hard to make money... esp. when you are "just" a mission runner or ore sucker. As a trader on the other hand... as a trader you are able to make billions in minutes. Or lose billions in minutes.

avatar

427 days ago

Yes it is if you're solo; to make a real lot of ISK (money) you need helpers, lots of them; to mine, manufacture and sell to other players. Some make huge amounts by scamming other players (they issue a contract to sell you a month of game time for half the market price, but if you don't look at the contract properly, you might find you pay that game time back to the seller when you accept the contract), some make lots by pirating other players and taking their cargo as loot, you can sometimes luck onto a billions in loot (haulers are not the smartest guys in Eve and sometimes haul ridiculously valuable cargo through pirate infested space); and some offer gambling services and make an absolute mint, enough to fund a four month long war involving 30,000 players costing trillions (a month of game time is worth around AUD17 to buy it outside your subscription and is worth about 1 billion ISK on the in-game market; enough to buy a thousands of frigates, but only one high tech battleship)

1

203 days ago

It's very hard to get started, but after the first couple of months opportunities to earn isk and to PvP we'll start coming up from everywhere.

585 days ago

Extremely hard and time consuming.

avatar

413 days ago

It's pretty easy to make money. Making ENOUGH money is always tricky. Low hanging fruit bears small rewards, go for the big stuff and you run the very real risk of having your rear handed to you by someone (usually more than 1) who either wants what you want, or wants what you have.

Lotala (after 10 days 15 hours play time)

327 days ago

Depends on play style and your nature. Find a corp (preferably not one in high sec) and they will show you everything you need to know including how to make isk.

ATXsniper30 (after 9 days 4 hours play time)

327 days ago

As a newbro, pretty difficult. Join a group of players that are friendly to newbros and willing to train them and it will become much easier.

TzuWu Avatar
2
7 Months ago
Whomever voted no on "helpful" is nuts, this is the best advice anybody could give.
1
1

323 days ago

Eve is the best, most beautiful space mining sim ever created. ISK is easy when you either a) spend years playing or b) have no job or no life and spend your entire day/half your night living Eve. As the rating shows there are plenty of neck beards in the world who enjoy this game.

4

327 days ago

At its core, EvE Online is a social game. You have to get out there and network, make allies, join a corporation that suits your playstyle and figure out what you want to do. EvE is also one of those games that when you screw it up, it will let you know that you screwed it up.

2

312 days ago

This is a great game join Goonswarm today. Then buy my minerals to build ships with thank you.

avatar

You

Now

How much freedom does Eve Online give you?

585 days ago

Infinite as long as you have a small quatity of in-game money.

avatar

413 days ago

A lot of freedom to play. But it's a game, there are limits and frustrations. Normal gameplay is only limited by your game character's moral code ... which is frequently left at the door.

avatar

427 days ago

Plenty, there are few rules and even then the game doesn't stop you from breaking them (you'll only lose security status and standings with the empires and the Concord (police) might come and kill you, depends on where you are). There are corporations that engage in 'suicide ganking' and kill [usually defenseless] players, knowing the Concord will kill them, but they gain more from the loot of their victims than the cost of their ship that gets 'Concorded'

Lotala (after 10 days 15 hours play time)

327 days ago

Depends on you. A lot of players let a fear of loss hold them back. If you can't get over this eve won't be a very fun game.

1

203 days ago

Did you just ACTUALLY ask that question?

avatar

You

Now

Does the setting of Eve Online feel original?

avatar

413 days ago

Agreed with Waegen's comments, it is a time sink. I started playing in 2009, and spent a LOT of time in the game. I'm still subscribed but don't play anywhere near as often.

avatar

427 days ago

Yes; it's not a game and more than a hobby, it's a second life, some refer to playing eve as their second job

585 days ago

Yes, because it have a small simple story, and the rest it's made by the playerbase

Lotala (after 10 days 15 hours play time)

327 days ago

Yes, while ccp are good story, they made it so the real story is made by the players.

1

203 days ago

It's one of the most original games I've played.

avatar

You

Now

How does Eve Online reward you for playing tactically?

Lotala (after 10 days 15 hours play time)

327 days ago

yes but I say it rewards situational awareness more. Some one is good tatically but has bad situational awareness will always lose to someone who is good at situational awareness but bad tactically.

585 days ago

If you not play tactically you can't play eve online

avatar

427 days ago

If you out tactic your enemy, you win and get their loot, or you escape and save your ship and loot; and kills along with points scores, are registered on a Killboard for all to see. Tactics is only part of martial success in eve, strategy is the real battle winner (ie your character skills, ship choice and ship fittings, all decided before any fight and are the biggest influence on winning or losing a fight)

avatar

413 days ago

Yes, the only way to play if you want to survive. You can accidentally avoid conflict for a long time because it's a huge environment .. but that day WILL come when you're happily popping down to the space corner shop in the middle of a 'safe' area, and you will get smacked.

1

203 days ago

Well, let's just say if you don't play tactically you will fail, and you will know you've failed.

avatar

You

Now

How open is Eve Online to explore?

avatar

427 days ago

absolute sandbox, you can go anywhere, even through wormholes, the only thing stopping you is other players, like pirates or native players defending there patch etc. There are also players who camp jump-gates and try to kill anyone coming through and in Null Security space, they can deploy things called Bubbles when catch your ship and drag it out of hyperspace as you try to warp away. Exploration is free and unfettered by the game, but made unsafe by players.

585 days ago

As long as you have a bit of intelligence to not going like crazy throught unsecure systems, the game is completely open to explore.

1

203 days ago

It's mostly open, however some systems, especially nullsec, will get you killed pretty quickly if you aren't welcome.

avatar

You

Now

How well does Eve Online let you develop your character?

1

203 days ago

Very well, one of the best around

avatar

413 days ago

2009 to 2016, training at max speed with +5 implants and i'm still hard at the learning curve

avatar

427 days ago

There's several years worth of skills to be trained in all manner of things, like flying various types of ships, operating each piece of equipment, mining, trading, leadership, science and anchoring structures in space and so on; if you play long enough to complete all the available training, you deserve a PhD. You can have up to 50 skills in the training queue at a time, and mine currently will finish in around 400 days, and that's less than 10% of the skills available. You can add remove and change priority for skill training at any time with ease.

avatar

You

Now

How realistic is Eve Online?

avatar

427 days ago

Quite realistic, most sub-light mechanics mirror real physics, but of course FTL mechanics are made up (warp drives and hyperspace jump drives etc). The rest of the game is player driven, as real as it can get.

avatar

413 days ago

Very good from my perspective ... who knows, i've never actually piloted a real spaceship before

1

203 days ago

It's hard to tell because us primitive humans haven't reached the final frontier yet, but it seems pretty realistic since it's pretty much a humanity emulator, CCP even employ economists to evaluate the ingame economy!

avatar

You

Now

How active is the PvP community in Eve Online?

avatar

427 days ago

It's primarily a PvP game, you'll do PvP nearly every time you log in, even when you don't want to.

avatar

413 days ago

Quite active. It constantly needs reinventing though imo as chat forums tend to go quiet after a while, but then new ones appear. Real life happens to us all.

Lotala (after 10 days 15 hours play time)

327 days ago

The only way to be guaranteed to not pvp in eve is to not log in.

585 days ago

There is always something to pvp in eve, or fleets, camps, factional warfare, suicide ganks, gathering of high-sec minner's tears, etc

1

203 days ago

To the core, EVE is a PVP game; all money earned leads towards purchase of more and more powerful fighting machines. All nullsec, one of the most infamous parts of EVE, is PvP oriented. Always active :)

avatar

You

Now

How grindy is PvE in Eve Online?

avatar

413 days ago

Can be very.

avatar

427 days ago

If you run missions, events or mine and stay only in high security space, then it gets grindy, but grinding is less than 10% of what you can do, and the PvP community won't let you get bored, they'll hunt you down and force some exciting content upon you.

1

203 days ago

100%, over 9000, really small amounts of young players, been called most exciting boring game ever, etc. etc. Especially at start.

Lotala (after 10 days 15 hours play time)

327 days ago

as grindy as you make it.

avatar

You

Now

Is it worth subscribing to Eve Online?

585 days ago

Absolutley, it cost me a headache in 2013, but I subscribed and I still subscribed today in 2016

avatar

427 days ago

my oath! I've got two accounts and spend an additional 1-3k per year buying game time to sell in-game to fund my operations and losses (I don't mine or do anything else to earn in-game money, I like fights).

1

203 days ago

Depends if you like the game :)

1

203 days ago

A little pricy, but worth it.

avatar

413 days ago

Absolutely. If you feel the opposite then clearly it's the wrong game for you.

avatar

You

Now

How fair is the free-to-play model in Eve Online?

Lotala (after 10 days 15 hours play time)

327 days ago

Its more of an unending trial account. It restricts certain modules and ships but is very free as far as what space you can go too and what actions you can partake of. I think the main thing you can't do is have more then one account logged in at a time and fuel structures(which is boring anyways). Also eve is a game where friends matter. You get a bunch of characters in cheap frigates they will kill super expensive super carriers pilot by characters with hundreds of million of skill points.

1

203 days ago

It's not really that f2p, more like p2p (pay to play). Alpha clones (the free aspect) were only introduced to let new people delve a bit more into the game to make a more evaluated decision whether to pay, or to not play.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Eve Online?

avatar

413 days ago

Good. Probably could be better these days, but still very good. I don't listen to the piped music either. That too is good, but really? I think people who play and listen to music tend to have their own music running ... in line with the adrenaline rush.

Lotala (after 10 days 15 hours play time)

327 days ago

Eve has sound?

1

203 days ago

Room for major improvements.

585 days ago

They are good, but I don't like the background music personally

avatar

427 days ago

I turn the sound off, 'in space, nobody can hear you scream' and it distracts me from the conversations, orders and tactics etc when on voice comms with other players (I've got 16% hearing impairment too)

327 days ago

Lotala below told the joke. Many long-term players turn the sound off completely- I'm one of them.
EVE is primarily social- I'm usually talking on Chat with other members of my corp so not listening to anything but that.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Eve Online?

avatar

427 days ago

Best I've seen, but I only ever played FB games before a friend pointed eve out.

avatar

413 days ago

Good. CCP have made lots of effort with graphics.

585 days ago

Incredible, it looks like a movie in terms of quality and detail

Lotala (after 10 days 15 hours play time)

327 days ago

Good but unless you are running a high end machine I recommend turning the graphics down for large battles. (large being several thousand players)

1

203 days ago

Very, very impressive. Have you SEEN footage of massive fights? The graphics are constantly being improved as well.

avatar

You

Now

How does Eve Online run on your PC?

avatar

427 days ago

Great, I started with a crappy Asus tablet and now use a better Asus lap top, but I've noticed no change to how smooth everything runs. Your internet connection has more to do with how well it runs (ping times can have a lot of influence over game play).

Lotala (after 10 days 15 hours play time)

327 days ago

Can be ran on what ever potato you have. It runs on pc as far back as vista I think, mac, linux. I have even read the occasional boasts about someone having jerry rigged it work on mobile devices, xp, 95 and graphing calculators. Obviously not at max graphics.

585 days ago

60+ fps, extremely smooth

1

203 days ago

Eve can run on a toaster. (not literally)

avatar

You

Now

How good is the Mac port of Eve Online?

avatar

427 days ago

For some reason I don't have a spot to reply to the next question and I want to, so I'll use this spot. The simple reason why some players stop playing is they have real life issues that prevent them from playing (like unhappy wives, sick kids and lost jobs etc). But everyone who leaves laments that and eventually returns.

avatar

413 days ago

Pretty good .. I think. (as per above).

There is no spot for 'why do players stop playing eve' as per the last contributer. Eve as mentioned is a time sink, so yeah there's unhappy partners, sometimes it's new baby arrivals, new job. (it is a game that attracts the more mature aged player after all). I've seen people just burn out from over playing, some have got bored, others unfortunately have passed away. But I can say i've never seen another game where the community gathers to a common cause like Eve when someone has indeed passed on, or ESPECIALLY when there is a crisis in real life such as a Tsunami or other disaster. CCP have on a few occasions set up means to donate to such disasters, and the Eve community is fantastic.

avatar

You

Now

Why do gamers stop playing Eve Online after playing for many hours

2
Ulli (after 1 day 5 hours play time)

582 days ago

I have played EVE Online for more than 3000 hrs... (and almost never used the steam client). I stopped because there was something called "real life" ^^

Why do gamers keep coming back to Eve Online

Lotala (after 10 days 15 hours play time)

327 days ago

The community. I just love the eve community.

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions