Master of Orion Review

Would you buy at full price or wait for a Master of Orion sale?

samby5 (after 6 hours play time)

41 days ago

I would wait for a sale, always best in my opinion. I do not have a lot of experience with space 4x games, although I have played all Civ titles since the first one, showing my age, I have come to enjoy this game and cannot wait to get more time with it. Very recommended.

Moo2lover (after 1 day 13 hours play time)

290 days ago

I would wait. Much of the game is great but I find the switch to RTS combat a huge disappointment as a follower of the series, and many small things that made earlier versions interesting are gone from this one (colony leaders, ship captains, colony bases, all gone...). If that all returns for the full release or as DLC later I might reconsider but as is I cannot recommend full price.

avatar

You

Now

Should you buy Master of Orion now or wait for it to come out of Early Access?

Moo2lover (after 1 day 13 hours play time)

290 days ago

If you're a fan of the early games, especially MoO2, wait. There is a war going on over the soul of this game on the Real Time vs Turn Based combat especially. If you're new to the series you may like it as is.

avatar

You

Now

Are the aliens in Master of Orion scary?

Moo2lover (after 1 day 13 hours play time)

290 days ago

Yes. The Guardian is no joke, and the high-producing races will colonize your pants off if you don't keep pace...

avatar

You

Now

What is the future like in Master of Orion?

Moo2lover (after 1 day 13 hours play time)

290 days ago

Beautiful. The artwork, music, and voice talent in this game are superb.

avatar

You

Now

How complex is Master of Orion to learn?

Moo2lover (after 1 day 13 hours play time)

290 days ago

Not very. Ship combat is seriously unituitive, but the galaxy map is clear and your 'asvisor' will offer contstant tips where needed (and you can mute the advisor if he/she/it becomes annoying)

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Master of Orion?

Moo2lover (after 1 day 13 hours play time)

290 days ago

Beautiful. Planets look great, cut scenes are engaging. The only caution I have would be the constant zooming and/out that the game does for/to you. Can be disorienting when you're on the galaxy map trying to plan your next move...

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Master of Orion?

Moo2lover (after 1 day 13 hours play time)

290 days ago

Excellent. Music is great and the voice acting is wonderful. There are certain races I don't even want to attack I like their ambassadors so much!

avatar

You

Now

How does Master of Orion run on your PC?

Moo2lover (after 1 day 13 hours play time)

290 days ago

Occasionall freezes, but I expect this is more to do with the early access nature of the game. I would imagine full release would work most of that out?

avatar

You

Now

How good is the Linux port of Master of Orion?

Moo2lover (after 1 day 13 hours play time)

290 days ago

I'm on the PC version...

avatar

You

Now

What do gamers think of Master of Orion after many hours of playing

Moo2lover (after 1 day 13 hours play time)

290 days ago

Yes and no. If you haven't guessed I love MoO2's leader and ship captain system, as well as turn based combat and small touches like the ability to scrap ships and use their technology. I am having fun selling and developing new colonies, and meeting the ambassador's of the other races. And then I open the RTS combat screen and my heart breaks every time.

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions