We may earn a commission when you buy through links in our articles. Learn more.

MSI launch an Overwatch tournament – qualifiers begin tomorrow


Overwatch MSI MGA 2016 Online Qualifiers kick of tomorrow, October 4, in the Americas, followed by Europe on October 7, continuing until October 11. Top eSports teams from 46 countries will compete for the tickets to Grand Finals at Gfinity Arena in London, where they will be fighting for the final Championship and a $75,000 prize pool.

Will any of our upcoming PC games match Overwatch’s eSports success?

Registration for this year’s event is now over and many well-known teams from pro-leagues in Asia, Europe, and Americas have joined. Here are some of the better known teams:


  • ahq, Newbee, KongDoo, KongDoo-2, afreeca Freecs RED, DeToNator.


  • REUNITED, Misfits, Ninjas in Pyjamas, Team Dignitas, ALTERNATE aTTaX, Team LDLC, melty eSport Club, k1ck esports club OW, GamersOrigin, No Heaven, Sydioda, Tropic Gaming.


  • Cloud9, Team Liquid, Tempo Storm, Nocturns Gaming, compLexity Gaming, Elite Wolves, H2K Gaming OW, Rise Nation, Obey Alliance, SelflessGG.

The top eight teams from each region will compete in the Regional Finals from October 14-21. Final winners from each region will be eligible for Grand Finals, held on December 7 at Gfinity Arena in London, to compete for the Championship title and the $75,000 prize pool. The final champion can walk away with a $40,000 cash prize. Second place, third place, and fourth place will be awarded $20,000, $10,000, and $5,000, respectively.

You can watch the action on Twitch. Here are the times:

Regional Online Qualifiers

  • Americas – October, 4-5 (Tuesday & Wednesday), 18:00 – 23:00 (PDT)
  • Europe – October, 7-8 (Friday & Saturday), 18:00 – 23:00 (BST)
  • Asia – October, 10-11 (Monday & Tuesday), 18:00 – 23:00 (CST)

Regional Final

  • Americas – October, 14-15 (Friday & Saturday), 18:00 – 23:00 (PDT)
  • Europe – October, 17-18 (Monday & Tuesday), 18:00 – 23:00 (BST)
  • Asia – October, 20-21 (Thursday & Friday), 18:00 – 23:00 (CST)

Grand Final

  • London, United Kingdom – December, 7-8 (Wednesday & Thursday), 18:00 – 23:00 (GMT)

Venue: Gfinity Arena, London.