Back to Top

Vikendi is returning to PUBG, with moving trains

If you’ve wanted to get some action in on PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds‘ snowiest map, you’ve been out of luck for some time. Vikendi has been out of rotation since Karakin joined the lineup earlier this year, but it’s coming back soon and it’s getting a sizable rework, besides. You’ll be able to see it all in action this weekend.

A limited selection of streamers and content creators will get access to the new Vikendi this Thursday, March 5 at 23:00 PST, or Friday, March 6 at 2:00 EST / 7:00 GMT. The tests will run until Sunday evening (or Monday morning) at those same times, so you’ll have plenty of time to check out all the new changes.

The new Vikendi will feature moving trains, as PUBG’s community manager confirms on Twitter, and it will not replace any existing maps. PUBG Corp wants to put “this out early to partners and their community so we can work on addressing any major feedback ASAP.” The results of their feedback will likely determine when the PUBG Vikendi test hits public servers and, eventually, the live game.

While we won’t have long to wait for full details either way, Chinese social media posts have revealed a bit more information about the update, as prolific leaker PlayerIGN has relayed on Twitter. In addition to the updated trains, “most of the snow” will be removed, and the dinosaur park will get a major expansion.

PUBG kicked off the craze for battle royale games, and hopefully continued updates for its maps will help keep it relevant among an ever more crowded genre.

Back to Navigation