Rust Review

Was Garry right to reset development on Rust?

85
Matt Purslow (after 20 hours play time)

936 days ago

From a technical/development standpoint: yes. If the engine was a mess that made further development near impossible, then Rust would never evolve. The main problem is that, months after the reset, new Rust still isn't at the same level as old Rust. The old game should have been recreated entirely in the new engine before attempting anything new.

xDoomers (after 24 days 7 hours play time)

319 days ago

Yeah, the new Rust is much better than the old one! If you're having a bad time in the game, switch servers...When I started playing I was in school so I had nearly all the time in the world so I just played normal servers, but since I'm in uni now, I'm forced to play "modded" servers since I just don't have the time anymore.

SharpCoast (after 10 days 6 hours play time)

95 days ago

Hell yes. Alot of people say that they miss rust legacy days but rust legacy can't really be compared to the new rust. It's just that diffrent of a game.

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

Yes. The game reached a point that was getting a little to difficult to continue developing over the old engine. Garry made it better and the numbers of players playing are showing that this was a good call.

MetroDetroitGaming (after 42 days 23 hours play time)

129 days ago

Its a great game that I run a server for. Im not super die hard Rust player but for a tower defense/PVP game its great fun

avatar

You

Now

What can you craft in Rust?

85
Matt Purslow (after 20 hours play time)

936 days ago

Survival gear from crude axes and simple bow-and-arrows, to massive metal fortresses. It's not on the same level as Minecraft, but it certainly veers more that way than most survival games.

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

Mostly everything. Weapons, Armor, Turrets, Construction and House Decorations

avatar

You

Now

How good an FPS is Rust?

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

Yes. It is a good shooter, although it is not the essence of the game. You can have a lot of fun in PVP servers like Battlefield and Battle Royale.

85
Matt Purslow (after 20 hours play time)

936 days ago

No; Rust is not a shooter. It has guns, but they're simply functional. Rust is focused on surviving the wilderness and building amazing things, rather than scoring sweet head-shots.

avatar

You

Now

How realistic is Rust?

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

Not much right now. Starvation, and other diseases/problems haven't been implement correctly yet. You can go days and days and days without eating or drinking.

85
Matt Purslow (after 20 hours play time)

936 days ago

I don't believe the modern man could survive as easily as anyone in Rust. Perhaps cavemen were hardier, and thus Rust could be realistic. But I never read a history book about cavemen that could turn fragments of metal into an assault rifle.

avatar

You

Now

How deep is the crafting in Rust?

85
Matt Purslow (after 20 hours play time)

936 days ago

Crafting is one of Rust's core features, so you'll be doing a lot of it. A crafting menu has a progress bar that shows you how close you are to having all the materials you need without outright saying what you're missing, which removes a lot of the frustration other crafting games provide when they refuse to explain what's needed. Perhaps this makes it shallow. I think it makes it good.

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

It is not hard to understand and not complex. But it sure gets the job done.

avatar

You

Now

How much fun are the weapons in Rust?

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

Bolt, Bow, Crossbow, Thompson and Custom SMG are fun. The recoil on AK makes me want to hate it!

Overall are quite fun and required a lot of skill to master.

avatar

You

Now

How well does Rust let you develop your character?

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

Not much as of now. Griding to learn the crafting items is annoying. Changes are coming to this next year.

avatar

You

Now

What strategies have you learned to survive in Rust?

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

Try to talk to people, ally to the people i once hatted to survive and if you get down, just try again and again.

avatar

You

Now

How open is Rust to explore?

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

Quite open, You can explore even the big sphere inside and the sound is so amazing!

avatar

You

Now

How much freedom does Rust give you?

85
Matt Purslow (after 20 hours play time)

936 days ago

Absolute. With no real aim, from the moment you spawn you are free to go anywhere, do anything, and kill anyone. Good luck with that.

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

Total freedom to do what you want, when you want

avatar

You

Now

What bits are on display? Boobs? Dongs? Erect or floppy? Give us details. LOTS OF DETAILS.

85
Matt Purslow (after 20 hours play time)

936 days ago

Floppy dongs, but only if you take the censor off. Otherwise men will have a Sims-like pixilated box over their crown jewels. They remain flaccid for all time (clearly sexual desire died in the apocalypse), and are stationary rather than animated. Wearing trousers will cover them up, but since you spend so much of your time dying and losing all your gear, you'll frequently be wearing nothing, so the dongs are often on show.

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

Dongs everywhere! Boobies are coming as well.

avatar

You

Now

How bleak is the end of the world in Rust?

85
Matt Purslow (after 20 hours play time)

936 days ago

Not all that much, surprisingly. Rust's world is quite picturesque, with mountains, beaches, and forests to explore. There's no decrepit and bombed-out European towns looming over you that's become so expected from the apocalypse.

avatar

You

Now

Should you buy Rust now or wait for it to come out of Early Access?

85
Matt Purslow (after 20 hours play time)

936 days ago

Rust won't leave early access for a long time. It feels like it still has years of development left. If you're interested in the game, you should buy it, but do your research beforehand and know what you're in for.

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

For me, i bought the game for 9€ but i wouldn't mind paying it 20-25€ for it. I spended more than 500+ hours on this and i trully, trully enjoy it. So yes, i would recommend.

avatar

You

Now

How good are Facepunch Studios at releasing regular updates?

85
Matt Purslow (after 20 hours play time)

936 days ago

Yes, Rust frequently receives patches and updates that add and change elements of the game. Whilst the game still doesn't feel like it's progressing in a defined direction, it does feel like it's still being made by a dedicated team.

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

Pretty good, they release patches every two weeks now, but they post a dev blog each week. Very informative.

avatar

You

Now

How active is the PvP community in Rust?

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

Pretty active. But there are a lot of people who kill you on sight.

avatar

You

Now

How grindy is PvE in Rust?

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

This parts bugs me. To get wood you can only hit trees. To get stone you can only hit nodes. There is no other (good) way to do it. Although Garry and the team wants to change this next year.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Rust?

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

Beatiful and stunning.

85
Matt Purslow (after 20 hours play time)

936 days ago

Since its engine update, Rust looks really nice. It's a bit too heavy on the bloom, but generally it's quite a pretty game with its own visual character.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Rust?

SharpCoast (after 10 days 6 hours play time)

95 days ago

I quite like the headshot sounds and the weapon switch sounds.

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

Pretty awesome, nice ambience and weapons sounds.

avatar

You

Now

How does Rust run on your PC?

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

Good, not perfect but pretty good.

avatar

You

Now

Why do gamers stop playing Rust after playing for many hours

85
Matt Purslow (after 20 hours play time)

936 days ago

After you've explored all the options in the crafting menu, built your own house, and annoyed some people by shooting them and stealing their stuff, there's not a massive amount to do unless you're happy to rinse-and-repeat.

Why do gamers keep coming back to Rust

2
DevilFire (after 24 days 21 hours play time)

620 days ago

The action, the heartbeat on dangerous situation. It is such a adrenaline rush.

Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions