Hurricane Sandy postpones MLG’s MvP Invitational StarCraft 2 final, $10,000 match moved to Thursday night

MvP_Logo_0

This is something you don’t see every day: an eSports event called due to weather. MLG announced today that they are postponing the final match of the MLG vs. Proleague Invitational between Eo “soO” Yoon Su (Korean Zerg) and Kim “Oz” Hak Soo (Korean Protoss). The event was originally scheduled for Monday night, 11 PM GMT / 7 PM Eastern, but the massive storm currently approaching New York, where MLG has its studio and headquarters, has caused the league to delay the final until Thursday night, 2 AM GMT / 10 PM Eastern.

The massive storm has forced evacuations in parts of New York and the shutdown of the city’s public transit system, and large swaths of the northeastern United States are expected to lose power.

The $10,000 best of seven final now takes place just one day before the start of the MLG Fall Championship in Dallas, where both soO and Oz are competing in group play. The MvP Invitational is a pay-per-view event, with passes selling for $10.