Back to Top

Free games: One of the best Total War games goes free to keep

While it leaked well ahead of time, today Sega and Creative Assembly have made it official – one of the very best Total War games is going free (for keepsies) for a limited time. Total War: Shogun 2 will be yours to claim on Steam starting early next week, and once claimed, it will remain in your library forever.

Total War: Shogun 2 will be free to claim from its Steam page starting Monday, April 27 at 10:00 PDT / 13:00 EDT / 18:00 BST. The promotion will last for one week – until Friday, May 1 at those same times. A sale on “select” Total War games and DLC – excluding the Warhammer games, the Rome series, and Three Kingdoms – will also run until Monday, May 4.

“The past few weeks have presented unimaginable challenges for many of us,” Creative Assembly says in the announcement, “but the remarkable collective effort being made by the global community to overcome this moment of adversity has been truly inspirational. With this in mind, we want to continue to encourage you all to stay home and save lives by extending a gift to everyone to help make this difficult situation a little bit easier.

“Everyone at Creative Assembly is now working from home, and we hope that this will help everyone with that stay home mission – #StayHomeSaveLives.”

Check out some more free PC games to help you with the stay-at-home mission in the weeks ahead.

Back to Navigation