Kerbal Space Program Review

How open is Kerbal Space Program to explore?

458
Fattox (after 6 days 1 hour play time)

855 days ago

It's not really a visual treat, but there's multiple solar systems, so i can forgive them for now. You can download a lot of nice mods that improve the textures of planetary surfaces, add lights to Kerbin (Earth), improved clouds, sun/flare/glare, galaxy skyboxes, etc. So if you ever want to improve anything, visually or otherwise, there's probably already a mod that'll do it!

5
juliemeowmers (after 7 days 18 hours play time)

77 days ago

It's an entire solar system. I'd say quite open. Just not a lot to see on the personal scale, when you're on the surface somewhere. But using your imagination, it can be a lot more. ;-)

158
Mctittles (after 6 days 6 hours play time)

635 days ago

There is a solar system, but the textures aren't really detailed so while flying there is fun, looking around is pretty boring.

avatar

You

Now

How realistic is Kerbal Space Program?

458
Fattox (after 6 days 1 hour play time)

855 days ago

I haven't flown many rockets in real life, but i would say a lot of it seems quite accurate, since you can use a lot of similar tactics in your missions as they do in real life (manoeuvres, etc).

I have heard complaints that the drag model is inaccurate, and things such as the re-entry of spacecraft is simplified (so your craft doesn't burst in to flames). But, well... as with everything in Kerbal, there's mods to fix and improve these things. :)

5
juliemeowmers (after 7 days 18 hours play time)

77 days ago

Stock, not very, but the vids I've seen of modded up versions, look spectacular.

158
Mctittles (after 6 days 6 hours play time)

635 days ago

Realistic enough to still be fun. Kerbin isn't actual earth gravity size so you can get off the ground pretty easy and there isn't multi-body gravity so you don't have to worry about Kerbin pulling you away when you are orbiting the moon etc.

avatar

You

Now

How creative can you be in Kerbal Space Program?

458
Fattox (after 6 days 1 hour play time)

855 days ago

The sky's the limit. If the stock parts aren't enough, download some mod parts. Deadly Robotics would be a good one. People have already made working Mechs, so if you have enough imagination and creativity, i think the ceiling for creativity would be rather high.

5
juliemeowmers (after 7 days 18 hours play time)

77 days ago

It's pretty limiting, when you have knowledge of actual rockets and details of space missions. There's a lot still missing. But they periodically add things. It gets better all the time.

158
Mctittles (after 6 days 6 hours play time)

635 days ago

As creative as your cpu can handle.

avatar

You

Now

Have you come up with any clever strategies in Kerbal Space Program?

158
Mctittles (after 6 days 6 hours play time)

635 days ago

I built a vehicle with electric wheels and a ton of engines that do nothing but pollute the air to keep electricity running for my vehicle.

avatar

You

Now

Would you recommend any good Kerbal Space Program mods?

458
Fattox (after 6 days 1 hour play time)

855 days ago

Engineer Redux + EngineerRedux-Allpods (Adds extra info to your flights, allowing you to make better manoeuvres). Kerbal Alarm Clock (Never miss a manoeuvres-node or event again!). Procedural Fairings (makes crafts look prettier and allows you to hide parts within your nosecones).

158
Mctittles (after 6 days 6 hours play time)

635 days ago

Final Frontier. Gives you much more reason to care about your Kerbal because they win awards for achievements they do. A quick and easy mod to install but adds a ton of depth without changing default gameplay significantly.

5
juliemeowmers (after 7 days 18 hours play time)

77 days ago

I've yet to be able to get any of them to function. The few I tried, following instructions closely, just made my game crash immediately. Could be the mods do more assuming that one has a decked out gaming computer, which I do not.

2
novahux (after 10 days 11 hours play time)

364 days ago

for every hundred hours you play you should buy another copy and gift it.
Dev's have earned it and your friends deserve it.

avatar

You

Now

Would you buy at full price or wait for a Kerbal Space Program sale?

458
Fattox (after 6 days 1 hour play time)

855 days ago

I got it for 15 euro, but would pay AAA price for it. It's easily the best thing i've gotten from Steam Early Access.

158
Mctittles (after 6 days 6 hours play time)

635 days ago

I would buy at full price.

avatar

You

Now

How active is the Kerbal Space Program mod scene?

158
Mctittles (after 6 days 6 hours play time)

635 days ago

Fairly active? There are a few good mods, but browsing through their curse site you start to get into garbage pretty quickly. So the main ones displayed are about the only ones worth downloading. Not as rich as say Arma or Minecraft but there are some decent ones out there.

NathSB Avatar
69
NathSB(24 days 6 hours played)
7 Months ago
I would strongly recommend using the official mod forums rather than Curse for finding KSP mods. Quite a few of the great ones are not listed on Curse. Link: http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/index.php?/forum/34-add-on-releases/
1
avatar

You

Now

Should you buy Kerbal Space Program now or wait for it to come out of Early Access?

158
Mctittles (after 6 days 6 hours play time)

635 days ago

It is "out" of early access. Campaign still doesn't seem finished though, along with a lot of other things. Like minecraft it seems cobbled together but you can't argue the fact it is still fun.

avatar

You

Now

How good are Squad at releasing regular updates?

158
Mctittles (after 6 days 6 hours play time)

635 days ago

Somewhat? I feel they could do more.

avatar

You

Now

Does the science in Kerbal Space Program feel authentic?

158
Mctittles (after 6 days 6 hours play time)

635 days ago

Depends on what you mean by "science". The physics are not 100% authentic (impossible with our computers) but it is good enough to get the basic idea of space travel. Their "science" missions are not realistic at all...

avatar

You

Now

How funny is Kerbal Space Program?

158
Mctittles (after 6 days 6 hours play time)

635 days ago

Funny when your stuff blows up. Their "flavor text" would be funny if I was a young kid, but as an adult it's about as funny as a soap commercial tries to be.

avatar

You

Now

How much freedom does Kerbal Space Program give you?

158
Mctittles (after 6 days 6 hours play time)

635 days ago

You can build whatever you want so building freedom is pretty big. You can't say move your launch location or colonize another planet with stuff so not so much there. Pretty good?

avatar

You

Now

Does the setting of Kerbal Space Program feel original?

158
Mctittles (after 6 days 6 hours play time)

635 days ago

No; it's based on out solar system.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the graphics in Kerbal Space Program?

458
Fattox (after 6 days 1 hour play time)

855 days ago

There is room for improvement, something mods already do, but an improvement by the devs would also be good. I would say that the only area i would like to see improvements in especially would be the ground textures/surfaces and maybe some more foilage or 'substance' in the world (at least on Kerbin/Earth).

158
Mctittles (after 6 days 6 hours play time)

635 days ago

Pretty terrible when compared to other games with the same graphic card requirements. Planets are downright ugly and boring to walk around on.

avatar

You

Now

How good are the sounds in Kerbal Space Program?

458
Fattox (after 6 days 1 hour play time)

855 days ago

The music is a treat. It's quite limited (or repetitive), but i never get annoyed with it. Each area of the game has a distinct soundtrack and it always feel very fitting and relaxing. Some satisfying explosion noises are also... less relaxing to hear...

158
Mctittles (after 6 days 6 hours play time)

635 days ago

Terrible. There are loud bird sounds every time you go to the "main map" area that are linked to the music volume? Balance is all over the place, there are not really any depth effects for different environments or surround sound or anything else that has been a staple of games for years now. Pretty much garbage in sound department.

avatar

You

Now

How does Kerbal Space Program run on your PC?

458
Fattox (after 6 days 1 hour play time)

855 days ago

It doesn't seem to have a high demand for resources, until you start loading the mods up, after which the loading times will increase upon the launching the game. Aside from visual mods, the performance in-game seems to be unaffected (by most mods).

My gaming rig is quite beastly (i7 4770k, 6GB 780, 16GB RAM), but i've played it on a standard no-frills laptop without any problems.

158
Mctittles (after 6 days 6 hours play time)

635 days ago

Not too bad, not too great. Had to turn stuff down which considering how ugly it is seems like it could be improved. Also had an argument with SQUAD on the forums where they thought using 100% cpu was "ok" as because people have multi-core processors. Don't seem to understand the concept of sleeping for the thousand other threads you have for like keyboard mouse for instance. They said I was wrong but eventually changed it in a performance update :)

avatar

You

Now
Dishonored 2 Review
Dishonored 2 Review

avataravataravataravataravatar

5 reviewers answered 7 questions