Back to Top

Fortnite and TikTok team up for create-your-own-emote contest

Following Ninja’s arrival in Fortnite, it looks like Epic Games is giving players the chance to see a little of themselves in the battle royale, too. It’s teaming up with video sharing platform TikTok to host an Emote Royale Contest, which lets players devise and submit an original dance move for the chance to get it added into Fortnite.

As spotted by our sister site The Loadout, Fortnite streamers Pokimane and Jordan Fisher have demonstrated their own emotes (which you can check out below), and encouraged players to have a go themselves. The way the contest works is simple: film yourself performing your moves (which have to be original – no copies!), then share the video on TikTok with the accompanying hashtag, #EmoteRoyaleContest.

The developer will then choose the best dance and transform it into a Fortnite emote, so you’ll be able to see it recreated in-game. Plus, the lucky winner will get 25,000 V-Bucks as well as a Fortnite VIP giveaway package. Sweet.

If you’re keen to get an idea of what to aim for, get a look at Pokimane and Jordan Fisher’s examples below.

@pokii can’t believe i’m saying this but i have my own Fortnite Emote! 🤯🥳 you can get one too by entering a dance with #EmoteRoyalecontest #EpicPartner♬ original sound – poki

@jordan_fisherDropping into Emote Royale with my new emote! Enter the contest and you could get your own emote too. #EmoteRoyaleContest fortnite♬ original sound – jordan_fisher

The competition is already live and runs through to January 24 until 23:59 PST (02:59 ET / 07:59 GMT on January 25).

The main competition rules you should be aware of are that it’s only open to entrants who are 13 years old or above, videos can’t be longer than 15 seconds in duration, and your dance has to include Fortnite emote music, which you can either find through TikTok or here – and, again, those moves need to be your own original creations.

Back to Navigation