Halo 2 Steam release time – the countdown to launch begins

Last week, Microsoft confirmed the Halo 2 Steam release date for Halo: The Master Chief Collection as May 12 – and now, we know what time the FPS game’s Anniversary remaster is headed to PC.

In a blog post on the Halo Waypoint forums, developer 343 Industries has detailed a few new nuggets of information ahead of the game’s imminent launch, announcing it’ll be available to grab starting from May 12, 20:00 PT / 23:00 ET / 04:00 BST (May 13). You can pick it up either on Steam or the Windows Store from that date and time.

“With this comes many new features for PC players,” the dev explains, “including Theatre for Halo 2: Anniversary and Halo: Reach, Customisation for H2 and H2:A, and Weekly Campaign Challenges”. However, Forge – a game mode that featured in the Anniversary version of Halo 2 – isn’t ready for PC just yet, the post explains. “Great progress has been made on Forge,” the dev says, “but we still have several supporting systems we are working through before this feature is complete. As we get closer to completion and it is ready to make the Great Journey to PC, we will keep y’all in the loop.”

In addition to the Halo 2 release time, 343 has also outlined a bunch of known launch issues, several of which are already in the process of getting fixed or “in progress and will be resolved in future updates”. You can check out the full list of known Halo 2, Halo 2: Anniversary, “Campaign”, and “Global” hiccups on the post here.

Halo 2 drops this week as part of the Master Chief Collection on PC, so get ready to dive into the remastered adventure. If you’re excited for even more Halo to come, the dev also adds “prep work” for Halo 3 flighting is “already well in progress with early testing beginning in the coming weeks with our Ring 1 folks”. If you’re keen to participate in Halo 3 flighting – beta testing – in the future be sure to sign up to the Halo Insider program for the chance.