Heroes of the Storm’s latest battleground, Infernal Shrines, goes live


The latest map for Heroes of the Storm has been released. Infernal Shrines is set on a battlefield between Diablo’s Heaven and Hell with the titular holy points acting as summoning spots for giant monsters that will kill enemy heroes and towers. Capturing them involves slaughtering skeletons, with the team that reaches 30 first gaining control and bringing forth one of three beasts to push a lane. Designer Dustin Browder goes over the specifics in a new video.

The battleground should be live in the Americas now and very shortly if not already in the EU. It represents the final piece of planned content for the Diablo crossover that’s been running for the past few months, titled Eternal Conflict. Jeremy sat down with Blizzard at Gamescom to get their thoughts on where the game will be heading next. Apparently the answer was Duck Hunt.

With the introduction of the Battleground, the official rotation is being altered slightly to be made smaller, meaning Infernal Shrines will pop up more. The six that will be available are:

  • Infernal Shrines
  • Battlefield of Eternity
  • Cursed Hollow
  • Dragon Shire
  • Sky Temple
  • Tomb of the Spider Queen

If you don’t see your favourite in there, you can still play it in custom games. This will also only be running until September 2nd, so chances are you’ll be able to get hard earned victories against strangers on them soon enough. I’d also bet on this becoming the new normal, where not every single map is available every week, as a way to keep things fresh – similar to how free heroes are rotated.