Back to Top

Next Epic Store free game is live; 11 more to follow over Christmas [Update: it’s gone]

Epic Games Store

Update, December 20: The next free Epic Store game is available now. TowerFall Ascension is available free of charge for 24 hours only. It does, however, mean Into the Breach is no longer free – only 50% off now. Original story follows.

Epic continues its policy of giving away free PC games via its Store. Fresh from two free games just a few days ago, another title is now free, with 11 more to follow over the Holiday period.

First up in Epic’s 12 days of free games promotion is the critically acclaimed Into the Breach. The strategy title is the latest from FTL: Faster Than Light developer Subset Games. It launched last year to universal praise, and we went on to name it among our best games of 2018. And now it’s available for the low, low price of £0 / $0. Be quick, though: it will return to its regular price on December 20.

Epic is revealing a new free game every day until the end of the year. The deals go live at 08:00 PT / 11:00 ET / 16:00 GMT each day. Additionally, the Epic Store is holding its own holiday sale to rival the Steam winter sale – and this lets you claim more games for free.

Every user can claim a $10 Epic coupon right away, and if you use this on any eligible title (anything costing more than $15 that isn’t a season pass, pre-order, in-game purchase, or DLC), you’ll be given another $10 voucher. That’s in addition to standard discounts of up to 75% on a variety of games. You could say the sale is… epic?

We’ll see ourselves out.

Back to Navigation