Nvidia announces 48% revenue increase ahead of this year’s big Volta/Vega showdown | PCGamesN

Nvidia announces 48% revenue increase ahead of this year’s big Volta/Vega showdown

Nvidia 48% Revenue Boost

The results are in, and Nvidia will be loving life today as their share price has risen 11% (at the time of writing) with the announcement of a revenue increase of 48% compared to this time last year. That’s a bit tastier than AMD’s 18% revenue boost, but then we’re still waiting on what Vega can do when it releases. 

Wondering why Nvidia sales are so healthy? They're ruling the roost in our best graphics card article as the fastest outright GPU.

Analysts recently suggested that stock of the company may be on the downswing, so the higher-ups at Nvidia must be feeling pretty smug right about now. The company have seen a healthy revenue increase on last year’s figures, rising to £1.937 billion.

So what have they done to see this success? The announcement of the GTX 1080 Ti certainly won’t have hurt - being the proud creators of the world’s fastest consumer GPU is a pretty snazzy tagline, and the Titan Xp, while undeniably pricey (like, $1,200, sell-all-your-stuff pricey), is an explosively powerful piece of kit.

In non-gaming areas though they’ve excelled as well - exciting projects such as plans to create an AI self-driving car computer with Bosch (that’s right, the washing machine people are also the world’s largest automotive supplier) and working with Facebook to create the ‘deep learning framework’ Caffe2 show Nvidia are dipping their fingers in some (potentially) very lucrative pies. 

Nvidia Titan Xp

In the words of their CEO Jen-Hsun Huang: "The AI revolution is moving fast and continuing to accelerate. Nvidia's GPU deep learning platform is the instrument of choice for researchers, internet giants and startups as they invent the future.

"Our Datacenter GPU computing business nearly tripled from last year, as more of the world's computer scientists engage deep learning. One industry after another is awakening to the power of GPU deep learning and AI, the most important technology force of our time."

That’s not to mention the boost in Tegra revenue. And where’s that come from? Well, there’s a certain Zelda machine Nintendo released which has done kinda well rocking Nvidia silicon inside it. Nintendo have also announced they’re beefing up the numbers of Switch consoles they’re manufacturing due to demand; that’s going to see a whole lot more Tegra chips being jammed into mobile games machines.

It’s worth mentioning, however, the announced $1.937 billion revenue has actually fallen from the $2.17 billion posted in the previous quarter - possibly as a result of hesitancy from investors and gamers still waiting to see whether Nvidia’s Volta GPU or AMD’s Vega GPU will come out on top following their announcements. Whether their offering or AMD’s stands victorious in the final reckoning, it’s hard to look at today’s announcement as anything other than a victory for Nvidia. 

We may have more official news about the next-generation Volta graphics architecture this afternoon as Jen-Hsun’s hitting the stage at Nvidia’s GPU Technology Conference today to deliver his keynote speech. Check out the livestream above at 09:00 PDT (12:00 EDT, 17:00 GMT, 18:00 CEST, 02:00 AEST) or you can catch it on Nvidia’s homepage or via Ustream

Sign in to Commentlogin to comment