Star Citizen teases planetary landing in its Nyx Landing Zone preview video | PCGamesN

Star Citizen teases planetary landing in its Nyx Landing Zone preview video

starcitizen.jpg

Following on from the recent news that Star Citizen's social module is being launched, Cloud Imperium Games have released a video teasing what planetary landing will look like. 

Spoiler: it looks amazing.

The ship comes in low through the canyon of a desolate, rocky planet as the debris of an asteroid belt hangs on the horizon. You can make out the lights of some ground vehicles on the ground below to the left as the ship comes in for its landing, while steam vents from the planet's core from a tear on the right. It's absolutely stunning.

starcitizen.jpg

You'll be free to take it all in, too, because planetary landings will be automated, at least at launch. Once the landing animation is complete, the camera takes us on a short tour through a dilapidated, man-made cave beneath the planet's surface. It's extremely atmospheric and I kept expecting to see a facehugger scuttle along the floor, but obviously one doesn't.

You can see the video for yourself at this handy Vimeo link

It will be interesting to see if Cloud Imperium Games reacts to the manual planetary landing and fully explorable planets of Elite: Dangerous in its upcoming Horizons expansion. One thing is for sure, the space sim is an exciting genre right now and a bit of competition can only be a good thing. The videogame space race is truly on. 

GOTW
Sign in to Commentlogin to comment
brmorgen82 avatarmidimaker avatarRecluse avatarAnAuldWolf avatarsrwirish avatarDeathmonkey7 avatar+2
srwirish Avatar
9
2 Years ago

First of all, when Star Citizen is finished and released it will symbolize something that flies in the face of conventional wisdom and expectations. That a AAA game can be 100% community funded, focus on PC exclusivity, not have a major publisher backing it, be the magnum opus of a man who has not been involved in the industry for a decade, and the ultimate shot in the foot and knee, be a brand new untested IP that just happens to be a space simulator that pushes hardware! Most will say the alignment of the planets need to happen before such a possibility is feasible, but it's happening right now. Think about that for a minute. If I'm aware of this now, I don't think these facts will be lost on those reviewers playing the complete version.

It is because of this and the likelihood that it will be a fantastic game in it's own right that I believe the attention Star Citizen receives at the end will be a massive success.

3
Recluse Avatar
174
2 Years ago

Good lord you guys, In the spirit of competition we should be cheering him on. It's been since the 90's since this style of game was popular so bring on the competition! These guys are working with huge concepts and building some giant systems to make this thing work. People love Elite Dangerous but that game has hardly anything to do in it and now they are asking for more money but do they get any shit for it? Carry on Chris your still making my dream game!

1
midimaker Avatar
137
2 Years ago

ya who knew expansions cost money? funny how dat works.

u try to make this about elite asking for money when star citizen is still shaking the begging bowl to da tune of $100 million....

1
midimaker Avatar
137
2 Years ago

such a shame roberts is all about graphics over gameplay. when u think what this game coulda been if roberts was an innovator...

-1
AnAuldWolf Avatar
872
2 Years ago

I never really grokked the appeal of this kind of game. To my mind, to have procedural content is to have no content. You must understand, I could no more play a procedurally generated game than I could sit down to read a novel or televised dramedy created in the same way.

Just try and wrap your mind around what a procedurally generated dramedy would look like! That's how I perceive games like this. Instead, I lean towards gameplay, unique portrayals of future technology, edge-of-one's-seat narrative, and a very personal and endearing plot stocked with characters I can't help but care about. These are the ingredients of a great game, and procedurally generated games won't have any of that.

Furthermore, it took them long enough to even add holograms! I mean, goodness gracious, they started off with CRT screens and flight sticks from the '70s, so I'm not exactly sure what's so futuristic about that. Their current holograms feel quaint when compared against the Microsoft Hololens (which, I might add, actually exists) and absolutely archaic versus the likes of Borderlands and Dead Space, even Deus Ex: Human Revolution makes them look antiquated.

And windows? On MY spaceship? The last thing I want is to be sitting on the lavvy when a rude dude of an alien shoots out the window. No thanks! What a bad idea! Why not have camera swarms and giant holographic, 360 degree displays?? Now THAT'S a future to embrace!

-2
Deathmonkey7 Avatar
4
2 Years ago

You're thinking of the wrong game, man. Star Citizen isn't procedurally generated, that's Elite: Dangerous. Star Citizen is hand made, which is part of the reason its taking so long to develop.

3
panbient Avatar
271
2 Years ago

But the $41 million stretch goal was procedural generation. From the RSI site itself -

"This stretch goal will allocate funding for Cloud Imperium to develop procedural generation technology for future iterations of Star Citizen. Advanced procedural generation will be necessary for creating entire planets worth of exploration and development content. A special strike team of procedural generation-oriented developers will be assembled to make this technology a reality."

2
midimaker Avatar
137
2 Years ago

hand made is a rly bad term, all assets have to be made before theyre used procedurally or hand-placed. star citizen are going to be using lots of procedural generation as game goes on.

only reason sc is taking so long is cos they creating everything at once, level of detail, constant re-designs and delays = more ship sales

0
brmorgen82 Avatar
58
2 Years ago

An automated landing? Wow, it really looks like they're really ahead of schedule! 12 weeks away from 2016 and the proven liar Chris Roberts doesn't even have anything close to something remotely resembling a computer game yet.

-5
leftysrevenge Avatar
2
2 Years ago

What's the last game you built from the ground up for high-end PCs? How long did that take you?

2