Back to Top

The Steam Spring Cleaning Event is here to reward you for clearing your backlog

The Steam Spring Cleaning event is here and – if you missed out on last year’s rendition – it’s less a ‘sale’ and more a ‘reason to actually play all those games you foolishly bought for pennies’. Basically, the event recommends a selection of games from your library, and by launching seven of them you’ll get a new badge and a bit of Steam XP.

The Spring Cleaning Event is live until May 28 at 10:00 PDT / 13:00 EDT / 18:00 BST, and you just need to hit up the event page to get started. You’ll get three game recommendations from your library in each of seven categories. Play Next uses the new Library feature to algorithmically recommend games, while other categories offer random selections of, say, games you haven’t played in a while, or games your friends have recommended.

Launch a recommended game in each of the seven categories, and congratulations – you’ve completed the event. The only time-consuming thing is downloading the games to launch them – though, if you’re of a mind to use bots and thus break the Steam terms of service, there are ways around that limitation.

If you’re looking to extend your Steam backlog rather than reduce it, the Steam Summer Sale 2020 dates have leaked, and it looks like the event is due to begin at the end of June.

If you’re looking for more to play, there are plenty of free Steam games out there for your enjoyment.

Back to Navigation