The Elder Scrolls Online release schedule unfurled ahead of April 4 launch | PCGamesN

The Elder Scrolls® Online: Tamriel Unlimited™

The Elder Scrolls Online release schedule unfurled ahead of April 4 launch

The horizon: the eternal promise of the Elder Scrolls series. But is it worth reaching?

The Elder Scrolls Online is out now; here's our Elder Scrolls Online review.

Following a spate of recent launch cock-ups from some of the biggest publishers in the business, the pre-order has come to seem less like a gesture of good faith and giddy anticipation, more like a favour to a corporation that probably doesn’t even send you birthday cards.

And so the publishers have had to sweeten the deal. In The Elder Scrolls Online’s case, that’ll mean a strange, staggered release come the start of April. Not one, but two separate pre-purchase early access schemes will run prior to full launch. See the details of them, and work out when you might be able to play, below.

The first sleuthgate will be opened in six days’ time, on March 30. That’s for players who pre-ordered ESO’s standard digital edition directly from Bethesda’s online store, or bought the pricey Imperial edition from anywhere:

  • North America (East) - 7:00am EDT
  • UK/IE - 12:00pm WEST
  • Central Europe - 1:00pm CEST
  • Sydney, Australia: 10:00pm AEDT
  • Singapore: 7:00pm SGT

A little after that, there’ll be a shorter, three-day grace period for the calendar-designated fools who pre-ordered the standard edition from a retailer, on April 1:

  • North America (East) - 7:00am EDT
  • UK/IE - 12:00pm WEST
  • Central Europe - 1:00pm CEST
  • Sydney, Australia - 10:00pm AEDT
  • Singapore - 7:00pm SGT

Once all of that lot have cleared Tamriel of its (thankfully instanced) resources, the rest of the gang can pile in on April 4:

  • North America (East) - 7:00 PM EDT (Thursday, April 3)
  • UK/IE - 12:00 AM WEST
  • Central Europe - 1:00 AM CEST
  • Sydney, Australia - 10:00am AEDT
  • Singapore - 7:00am SGT

If anything, I think that arbitrary distinction between fans who pre-ordered from Bethesda and those who did so from retailers just reaffirms my distrust of pre-orders. How about yours?

Cheers to IGN and Reddit AMAers.

Login or Register
1
+3
-2
Shykonn's picture
121

Elder scrolls online? *Tumbleweed*

0
+1
-1
TenClub's picture
293

Some corrections:

March 30 is reserved for players who have purchased the Imperial Edition and it doesn't matter where you got it from. However, even buying the standard edition from the Bethesda store lets you play that day.

April 1st is for players who have purchased the standard edition (minus Bethesda store).

Anyway, a staggered release isn't anything new and it will help spread people out so hopefully the servers hold up well.

Can't wait to play on the 30th =) Been very excited for launch.

1
+1
-0
Jeremy Peel's picture
119

Ah yeah, I've made an edit for clarity - cheers. It is still somewhat odd that the standard edition most have pre-ordered has wound up being a slightly better deal from the Bethesda store.

1
+1
-0
TenClub's picture
293

No problem =)

Yeah, I see what you mean. I guess they wanted to encourage people to buy it through their site so they get 100% of the money instead of having GMG, Bestbuy, etc. getting a cut. It is unfair to those people since they pay the same price as those buying it from Bethesda.

Try these free to play games
?

These are affiliate links - clicking them and playing the games directly supports PCGamesN

Spotlight
?

Our Spotlight units plug content our journalists have made, that our advertisers want to promote. Sometimes the promotion is paid for, but the content they go to is always independent with no client oversight or approval.

Alienware - Game VictoriousTurtle Beach
The best videos from Elder Scrolls Online

The Elder Scrolls® Online: Tamriel Unlimited™

The best videos from Elder Scrolls Online

The Elder Scrolls Online is hosting a free weekend for beta players

The Elder Scrolls Online is hosting a free weekend for beta players

The Elder Scrolls Online: Tamriel Unlimited is now live, no subscription required

The Elder Scrolls Online: Tamriel Unlimited is now live, no subscription required

The Elder Scrolls Online: Tamriel Unlimited trailer highlights what’s new in the free-to-play relaunch

The Elder Scrolls Online: Tamriel Unlimited trailer highlights what’s new in the free-to-play relaunch

The Elder Scrolls Online update introduces muggable NPCs, fans rejoice

The Elder Scrolls Online update introduces muggable NPCs, fans rejoice

The pet's out of the bag: The Elder Scrolls Online gets an all new inventory system

The pet's out of the bag: The Elder Scrolls Online gets an all new inventory system

MMOs are stagnating and need to stop relying on Pavlovian trickery

Star Wars: The Old Republic

MMOs are stagnating and need to stop relying on Pavlovian trickery

The Elder Scrolls Online is dropping its subscription on March 17th

The Elder Scrolls Online is dropping its subscription on March 17th

There are some hints that Elder Scrolls Online is going free to play

There are some hints that Elder Scrolls Online is going free to play

Zenimax explain Undaunted Pledges: The Elder Scrolls Online's latest round of dungeons

Zenimax explain Undaunted Pledges: The Elder Scrolls Online's latest round of dungeons

The Elder Scrolls Online NPCs to be murdered and mugged by players after Christmas

The Elder Scrolls Online NPCs to be murdered and mugged by players after Christmas

The Elder Scrolls Online's gargantuan 1.5.2 patch tweaks dungeons and gives NPCs a facelift

The Elder Scrolls Online's gargantuan 1.5.2 patch tweaks dungeons and gives NPCs a facelift

The Elder Scrolls Online review

The Elder Scrolls® Online: Tamriel Unlimited™

The Elder Scrolls Online review

Elder Scrolls Online and Skyrim books will cover the lore and the land of Tamriel

Elder Scrolls Online and Skyrim books will cover the lore and the land of Tamriel

Cops 'n Robbers: The Elder Scrolls Online justice system unveiled

Cops 'n Robbers: The Elder Scrolls Online justice system unveiled

The Elder Scrolls Online developer hit with layoffs now that the game

The Elder Scrolls Online developer hit with layoffs now that the game "runs smoothly"

Gotta have wraith: Zenimax to give pets as rewards to Elder Scrolls Online subscribers

Gotta have wraith: Zenimax to give pets as rewards to Elder Scrolls Online subscribers

Want to go higher? The Elder Scrolls Online update 4 will introduce Upper Craglorn

Want to go higher? The Elder Scrolls Online update 4 will introduce Upper Craglorn

The Elder Scrolls Online review in progress

The Elder Scrolls® Online: Tamriel Unlimited™

The Elder Scrolls Online review in progress

Born to dye: guild and customisation-focused Elder Scrolls Online Update 3 now live

Born to dye: guild and customisation-focused Elder Scrolls Online Update 3 now live

The Elder Scrolls Online begins its European megaserver migration today

The Elder Scrolls Online begins its European megaserver migration today

What to expect from The Elder Scrolls Online's daedra-controlled Imperial City

What to expect from The Elder Scrolls Online's daedra-controlled Imperial City

Elder Scrolls Online apparently has more than 750,000 subscribers

Elder Scrolls Online apparently has more than 750,000 subscribers

The Elder Scrolls Online is coming to Steam today

The Elder Scrolls Online is coming to Steam today