Free games: Assassin’s Creed 2 is now free – to keep

April 14, 2020 Assassin’s Creed II’s free giveaway is now live.

Assassin’s Creed II, which is widely regarded as one of the series’ best titles, will be free to keep for a limited time starting this week. Ubisoft is now offering the game through Uplay for the next three days.

You can head to the official site to claim you copy of Assassin’s Creed II. The promotion lasts until April 17 at 6:00 PDT / 9:00 EDT / 14:00 BST.

If that link is busted for you – we’ve had a bit of trouble with it – fire up Uplay and head to the store tab. You should be able to see the offer on the front page. If not, click on the Assassin’s Creed franchise icon and find it there. If you have 40 extra Ubisoft club points, you can unlock a special Uplay-exclusive map for the game – the Auditore family crypt. Find that in the Club Rewards section once the game is in your library.

Set in Renaissance Italy, Assassin’s Creed II follows the adventures of Ezio Auditore da Firenze. After learning that his late father was a member of the Assassins, Ezio sets out to avenge his death, exploring Florence along the way and running across all manner of historical figures in Assassin’s Creed’s now well-established formula. Eventually, Ezio learns of a plot to unify Italy for the Order, led by none other than Rodrigo Borgia – the man who would later become (the notorious) Pope Alexander VI.

Fortunately, Ezio has help from a couple Renaissance luminaries – Leonardo da Vinci and Niccolo Machiavelli both provide advice and support along the way, as Ezio travels from Florence to Venice, Forlì, Venice, and eventually Vatican City in 1499.