Back to Top

This week’s free games from Epic are about exploring the American West

September 10, 2020 You can now claim Railway Empire and Where the Water Tastes Like Wine for free from the Epic Games Store.

Another week is winding to a close, and that means we get another round of lovely free games from the Epic Games Store. This week’s game are Railway Empire and Where the Water Tastes Like Wine.

Both games deal with the United States’ history of westward expansion and ‘Manifest Destiny’, albeit coming at the issue from completely different angles. Railway Empire, on the one hand, is a tycoon-style management game about the Golden Age of Rail, and you’re put in charge of a budding transportation concern. You’ll have to decide where to lay track, what industries you want to link up, which trains and carriages to buy, and how to engineer hostile takeovers of your cutthroat competition in order to succeed. Since it launched, developer Gaming Minds Studios has produced a hefty selection of DLC that expands the territory you can steam your way through.

Where the Water Tastes Like Wine is a wholly different kind of experience. On one level you could say it’s an adventure game set in Great Depression-era America, but it’s really about collecting and re-telling classic (and some more obscure) stories from American folklore.

Here’s the trailer:

YouTube Thumbnail

The stories themselves are provided by a collection of noted authors, including writers like Cara Ellison, Austin Walker, and Leigh Alexander. There’s even an appearance by rock superstar Sting.

Railway Empire and Where the Water Tastes Like Wine are available now on the Epic Games Store, and will be there to claim until September 17 at 8:00 PDT / 11:00 EDT / 16:00 BST.

Back to Navigation