Rainbow Six Siege’s Tachanka rework launches today

November 17, 2020 The Tachanka rework hits live Rainbow Six Siege servers today.

The Rainbow Six Siege Tachanka rework is coming – very soon. After a stay on test servers, the new and improved Tachanka hits the live game today across all platforms. The Tachanka rework is already live on Xbox platforms as you’re reading this, and will soon be on PlayStation after the current downtime wraps up.

On PC, downtime for the Tachanka update starts at 12:00 PST / 15:00 EST / 20:00 GMT, and is expected to last for about 40 minutes. The Tachanka rework sees the operator switch over to the DP27 LMG as a primary weapon, which can easily shred through soft walls. His gadget is the Shumika incendiary grenade launcher, which will spread fire in a small area – perfect for sealing off doors and windows with some AOE damage. The grenades will bounce, too, so you don’t even need line-of-sight to your target.

Tachanka was originally set to get Zofia’s Withstand passive, which lets you revive yourself from a down-but-not-out position. Withstand has already been a contentious ability among pros and everyday Siege players alike, and Ubisoft has dropped it for Tachanka following feedback on the test server.

The update also, sadly, sees Tachanka get a new voice actor due to “unavoidable constraints”. In the patch notes, the devs say “We thank Anatoly Zinoviev for his past work as Tachanka’s voice actor and for the passion he was able to provide to both the role and to the community.”

YouTube Thumbnail

We might have to adjust our list of the best Rainbow Six Siege operators soon… Rainbow Six Siege Year 5 rolls on, and you can follow that link for plenty more on what’s coming to the game.