This week’s free game from Epic is a bullet hell take on Typing of the Dead

November 12, 2020 You can now grab The Textorcist free from the Epic Games Store.

It’s Thursday, and you know what that means – another round of free PC games from the Epic Games Store. The Dungeons 3 givaway is now gone from the store, but Epic has launched a new free title for the week. That’ be The Textorcist: The Story of Ray Bibbia, which brings together bullet hell shooters, Typing of the Dead, and The Exorcist into one unlikely package.

You’ll can grab The Textorcist from the usual promotion page from now until November 19 at 8:00 PST / 11:00 EST / 16:00 GMT, when it’ll be replaced by Elite Dangerous and The World Next Door. As always, you’ll ‘purchase’ the game at a zero dollar price tag, and it’ll remain in your Epic library forever, just as with any game you’d paid money for.

The Textorcist puts you in the clergy collar of Ray Bibbia, an exorcist for hire in the midst of a demonic outbreak. To fight the hordes of Hell, you need to type in your exorcisms just like in the educational software of your youth. You’ve just got Lucifer instead of Mavis Beacon. And as you’re doing that, you’ve gotta dodge a shmup-style hail of bullets.

For now, you can check out a trailer below.

YouTube Thumbnail

If you’re looking for free Steam games, too, you know where to find an excellent selection of them.