Back to Top

The Witcher Netflix release time – here’s exactly when you can watch live-action Geralt

The Witcher comes to Netflix this week, so we’ll soon finally see how the live-action adaptation of the Andrzej Sapkowski books has turned out. (It’s been a long time since that awkward first photo of Henry Cavill as Geralt, after all.) The Witcher’s Netflix release date is set for December 20, but when exactly does the show go live?

Netflix almost always publishes new programming at midnight Pacific time. That means you can expect The Witcher to go live on Friday, December 20 at 0:00 PST / 3:00 EST / 8:00 GMT. All eight episodes of the first season are expected to go live at once, but prepare yourself for some unanswered questions – The Witcher season 2 has already been confirmed.

If you haven’t been keeping up, the TV series will focus on Cavill’s Geralt as he joins up with Yennefer (played by Anya Chalotra) and young Ciri (played by Freya Allan) to navigate the horrors of the grim fantasy setting. While the main characters will be familiar if you’ve played The Witcher 3, the show is based directly on the books, not the games.

But, importantly, there is still a bathtub scene.

CD Projekt Red is currently hurtling toward the Cyberpunk 2077 release date, and you’re going to be waiting a long, long time for any kind of Witcher 4 release date. But the developers have been open to the possibility of another game, and you can follow that link for a breakdown of the handful of things they’ve mentioned so far.

Back to Navigation