Xbox’s new PC app has appeared on the Microsoft Store, and it looks pretty good | PCGamesN

Xbox’s new PC app has appeared on the Microsoft Store, and it looks pretty good

Screenshots for the beta version of Xbox’s upcoming PC app are now on the Windows store, and they display a range of functions and game-focused features that will make it a total replacement for Microsoft’s Windows Store, at least as far as games are concerned.

The Xbox app interface on PC looks somewhat similar to Discord, with a column for installed games, and tabs for game pass features, social functions like chat, and the store itself. One screenshot shows a probably completely real group of gamers discussing setting up a co-op session of Sea of Thieves and sharing a screenshot.

The store listing, discovered by Twitter user @h0x0d, says the app lets you browse your Xbox Game Pass games on PC, sorting them by genre, and seeing recommended and featured games. You’ll also be able to subscribe to Game Pass through the app.

The Xbox app’s store section will include the usual trailers, screenshots, and system requirements, and also browse ratings and reviews left by other players, as well as any DLC that’s available for the game you’re looking at.

Another nice touch: the app will let you communicate over voice or text across platforms, so you’ll be able to chat with friends who are using Xbox One or the mobile app.

Shift gears: A beginners’ guide to Forza Horizon 4

Microsoft will likely reveal more about the Xbox app today at its E3 briefing, which kicks off at 13:00 PDT / 16:00 EDT / 21:00 BST. They’ve hyped it up to be one of their biggest E3 presentations in years, so there’s sure to be plenty to talk about when it’s over.

Clicking on links in articles to retailers or publishers may mean we earn a small commission.