We may earn a commission when you buy through links in our articles. Learn more.

FF14 server status and maintenance times - is FFXIV down?

If you can’t get into Eorzea, it might be because the servers are having downtime. Here’s the current FFXIV server status and planned maintenance.

FFXIV server status and maintenance times - Xenos yae Galvus, a beautiful man with long golden hair falling over his faces as he reclines in a chair, jaw resting lightly on his fist

Is FF14 down? It might be because of ongoing maintenance or server issues if you can’t log on to FF14 or access your character. Before worrying about any problems with your game, you’ll want to check the FF14 server status and currently scheduled maintenance times below to see if the MMO is offline.

If you can’t log into FF14, it’s typically because of planned maintenance. The critically acclaimed MMORPG occasionally schedules downtime to implement patches, updates, and other hotfixes or to perform maintenance on the game’s servers. Developer Square Enix usually announces these well ahead of time, so be sure to read on and see when future maintenance times are planned.

FF14 server status

The FF14 servers are currently online. However, Adamantoise World suffered some technical difficulties on June 11, 2024. While the issues are now largely resolved, there may be lingering connection issues, as well as issues accessing, sending, and receiving data from data centers.

The FF14 server status tends to be pretty stable otherwise, but there are occasional blips, so if you’ve been unceremoniously kicked out of the game or unable to log in, the servers may be down. You can usually check this via the FF14 Lodestone, where Square Enix tracks the current status of each world.

If you are having a problem with character creation, the simple fixes for this are to pick a new server or to wait. As confirmed on the Lodestone site, character creation is halted when a server is too overcrowded.

FFXIV maintenance times - Meteor, a brown-haired man in full plate armor

FF14 server maintenance

The next Mog Maintenance Station maintenance is booked in from Wednesday, June 12, 2024, from 12am PDT/ 3am EDT / 8am BST until 1am PDT / 4am EDT / 9am BST. The blog post notes that the completion time is subject to change.

After this, the next major FF14 maintenance may occur on the Dawntrail release date. There are also a few dates that Square Enix has pointed out may become general maintenance days as it is advising those who have booked the Ceremony of Eternal Bonding that they may need to choose another date. The affected dates in the next few weeks are:

  • Thursday, June 13, 2024 (or June 12, 2024 if on US West Coast)
  • Tuesday, June 18, 2024 (or June 17, 2024 if on US West Coast)
  • Wednesday, June 19, 2024 (or June 18, 2024 if on US West Coast)
  • Thursday, June 20, 2024 (or June 19, 2024 if on US West Coast)
  • Tuesday, June 25, 2024 (or June 24, 2024 if on US West Coast)
  • Wednesday, June 26, 2024 (or June 25, 2024 if on US West Coast)
  • Thursday, June 27, 2024 (or June 26, 2024 if on US West Coast)

If maintenance occurs during any of those dates, it will start at 9pm PDT / 12am EDT / 5am BST and finish at 4am PDT / 7am EDT / 12pm BST.

When there is planned maintenance on the FF14 servers, be sure to log out before the maintenance period begins, or you might find yourself booted from the game mid-activity. Before maintenance, you should also see notifications warning you of the impending downtime via the in-game chat window if system messages are enabled.

The Home World Transfer Service and Data Center Travel System are suspended 30 minutes before the start of the maintenance period, and they’ll remain unavailable for use until the maintenance has concluded. You’ll also be unable to use some features of the FF14 companion app during this time.

FFXIV server status - Y'shtola Rhul, a white-haired catgirl with milky-white eyes

Is FF14 down?

The Final Fantasy 14 servers are currently online. For information on future planned maintenance, you can keep an eye on the Square Enix FFXIV Lodestone, where there is a specific page for maintenance notices.

That’s all there is to know for now. If you want to spend that downtime preparing, get up to speed on the FF14 Island Sanctuary and how to get the FF14 Manderville weapons. Or you could check out more of the best single-player MMOs for great solo experiences in shared worlds.