Back to Top

Square Enix’s Avengers game will be revealed at E3

Marvel's Avengers

After a lengthy wait, we’re finally going to see what Square Enix has in store with its Avengers project. It looks like the game is officially titled ‘Marvel’s Avengers,’ and it will be properly unveiled at the publisher’s E3 2019 showcase, which is set to run the evening of Monday, June 10.

Check out the full E3 2019 press conference schedule for full details on when everything will take place, but you can tune into the Square Enix presentation on June 10 at 18:00 PDT / 21:00 EDT, or June 11 at 2:00 BST. The announcement comes via the official Avengers Twitter account, which bills the event as a “worldwide reveal” for the game.

We don’t know much about what to expect, however. The announcement comes with logos for Crystal Dynamics and Eidos Montreal, the developers on the game, though neither of those names comes as a surprise. The Avengers project was first announced over two years ago, though we’ve seen basically no official details on what the game will actually look like.

The only real hints we have about Avengers gameplay come courtesy of early job listings, which suggest a “third-person cover-based action adventure game” with “stealth, player weapons and tools, cover and melee-based mechanics.”

Shaun Escayg at Crystal Dynamics is the creative director and writer of the game. Previously, he was a director on Uncharted: The Lost Legacy and director of photography on The Last of Us at Naughty Dog – so that’s plenty of experience on notable narrative action games.

Read more: Check out all the biggest upcoming PC games

There’s plenty of exciting stuff to be shown among the E3 2019 games, from Avengers and Cyberpunk 2077 to Halo Infinite, Doom Eternal, and Borderlands 3. Stand by for an overwhelming amount of gaming news.

Back to Navigation