Call of Duty: Modern Warfare and Warzone double XP event gets extended

The Call of Duty: Modern Warfare and Warzone double XP weekend has been extended, following a “few XP and progression issues”, developer Infinity Ward has announced.

In a post on Twitter, the studio says: “Over the weekend we experienced a few XP and progression issues. To thank you for your patience while we got everything back up and running, we’ll be leaving the 2XP, 2XP Weapon, and 2XP Tiers event on until Tuesday, April 7 at 23:00 PT” (April 8 at 02:00 ET / 07:00 UK). This follows a tweet posted over the weekend on the dev’s Twitter channel announcing it was “investigating an issue with XP and progression”.

The event, which kicked off on April 3 and was initially due to run until April 6 at 10:00 PT / 13:00 ET / 18:00 UK, offers double the XP rewards (weapon XP included) and battle pass progression for your efforts in both the FPS game’s multiplayer and Special Ops modes, as well as the battle royale game’s own matches.

While the event’s seen some hiccups, it does mean players have another day to go grab some extra XP in the last big event before Modern Warfare Season 2 concludes and the Modern Warfare Season 3 release date drops.

Check out our Call of Duty: Modern Warfare weapons and Call of Duty: Modern Warfare killstreaks guides if you’re keen to get the most of the double XP event while it continues today.