Diablo 4 Renown system explained

Here's how the Diablo 4 Renown system works, including the rewards you can expect to receive at each tier and how to increase your Renown as you explore.

Diablo 4 Renown: A typical necromancer in Blizzard's ARPG, dressed in plate armour with ornate bone accoutrements.

How does the Diablo 4 Renown system work? The reputation system includes a wide variety of rewards that you can gradually unlock as you explore the regions of Sanctuary. To make it easy for you, we’ve collated a list of those rewards, the activities you need to watch out for, and how much Renown you need to acquire before you can retrieve your earnings.

If you’re already striking out in Diablo 4, a summary of your Renown progress is at the top of the Diablo 4 map screen. This toolbar outlines the total amount of Renown you’ve earned in that region and the exact number of activities you’ve completed. Here’s everything you need to know to strike it big with Diablo 4 Renown.

How to increase your Diablo 4 Renown

You can increase Diablo 4 Renown by completing activities in Sanctuary, such as discovering new areas and clearing dungeons. Here are all the ways to increase your Diablo 4 Renown:

  • Areas discovered – 5 Renown
  • Altars of Lilith – 10 Renown
  • Waypoints – 20 Renown
  • Side quests – 20 Renown
  • Side dungeons – 30 Renown
  • Strongholds – 100 Renown

While strongholds are the obvious choice for gaining Renown in record time, we recommend holding off tackling these at higher levels. In our experience, it’s best to take it easy in your first few hours and concentrate on activating waypoints and Altars of Lilith for some easy returns. Be aware that Renown is scheduled to reset every season alongside the Diablo 4 battle pass, so be prepared to complete these activities again further down the line.

The Region Progress menu which provides a full breakdown of Diablo 4 Renown in the Fractured Peaks region and the rewards, including the waypoints, strongholds, and dungeons to be completed.

Diablo 4 Renown rewards

Renown progress is split into five tiers, milestones you need to reach to claim Diablo 4 Renown rewards. It takes a total of 1,800 Renown to clear all five tiers and net those rewards, which means you don’t have to be a completionist to reach this goal – simply play through the ARPG as you would, and the rewards will come. What’s more, Diablo 4 Renown rewards are account-wide, which makes leveling alternative characters a breeze.

Here are the Diablo 4 Renown rewards for all tiers  for each region:

  • Tier 1 (200 Renown) – bonus experience, 3,000 gold, and one skill point.
  • Tier 2 (300 Renown) – bonus experience, 10,000 gold, and one potion charge.
  • Tier 3 (400 Renown) – bonus experience, 25,000 gold, and one skill point.
  • Tier 4 (400 Renown) – bonus experience, 60,000 gold, and 80 Max Obols.
  • Tier 5 (500 Renown) – bonus experience, 125,000 gold, and four Paragon Points.

It’s important to note that your Diablo 4 Renown rewards won’t unlock automatically once you reach a new tier, so be sure to claim them from the Region Progress menu. You can access it from the map screen by pressing ‘W’.

That’s everything you need to know to begin building Diablo 4 Renown. If you’re unsure what to do with your Diablo 4 Obols, check out our guide to Whispering Keys to net even more rewards. Alternatively, look at the Diablo 4 shrines you can activate to help you best fearsome foes like Ashava and other Diablo 4 world bosses. Finally, if you’re just finding your feet in Sanctuary, we’ve got some excellent Diablo 4 tips for both new and returning players to help you reach the max level cap in one piece.