Back to Top

With E3 gone, here’s the full summer game announcement schedule

Keep track of all the big game announcements coming this summer with our massive list of events

E3 is cancelled, and its organisers aren’t even running a digital replacement. But that doesn’t mean all the publishers and developers who would’ve shown their upcoming PC games – and console games, too – at the Electronic Entertainment Expo are going dark this summer. A big collection of digital events have been planned to host all that videogame news, with or without E3.

But now, the lineup of E3 replacements has been rightly overshadowed by the ongoing protests against police brutality and racial inequality in the US and around the world, and many publishers and outlets with events on the schedule have elected to postpone their broadcasts in an effort to allow more important voices to be heard.

It’s a lot to keep track of, so for both your benefit and ours, we’re collecting details on every darn upcoming videogame broadcast we can find, right here. Keep scrolling for details on when each event is taking place, which have been delayed, what to expect from them, and how to tune in.

Here’s everything we know about, presented in more-or-less chronological order.

Nacon Connect

When is it? – July 7 at 10:00 PDT / 13:00 EDT / 18:00 BST

Where is it? – YouTube

What is it? – Nacon’s first entry into the world of digital conferences will include a selection of as-yet-unannounced games, including the next Test Drive Unlimited title and the next game from Greedfall developer Spiders Studio.

World of Warcraft: Shadowlands update

When is it? – July 8 at 9:00 PDT / 12:00 EDT / 17:00 BST

Where is it? – Twitch and YouTube

What is it? – A breakdown of some of the new content coming in the next WoW expansion, Shadowlands. Executive producer John Hight and game director Ion Hazzikostas will break down what to expect heading into the World of Warcraft: Shadowlands release date.

Devolver Direct 2020

When is it? – July 11 at 12:00 PDT / 15:00 EDT / 20:00 BST

Where is it? – Twitch

What is it? – A dump of footage, release dates, and other information on the Devolver Digital catalogue – including the first Shadow Warrior 3 gameplay. If history is anything to go by, you can also expect bizarre storytelling, a load of meta-humour, and a host of ridiculous gore effects.

Ubisoft Forward (July)

When is it? – July 12 at 12:00 PDT / 15:00 EDT / 20:00 BST

Where is it? – Twitch and YouTube

What is it? – A showcase of Ubisoft games to replace the publisher’s usual E3 press conference. Expect details on games including Rainbow Six Quarantine, Watch Dogs Legion, Gods and Monsters, and Assassin’s Creed Valhalla – and an announcement for Far Cry 6 is also likely.

Stadia Connect

When is it? – July 14 at 10:00 PDT / 13:00 EDT / 18:00 BST

Where is it? – YouTube

What is it? – The latest news and announcements from Stadia. The early response to Google’s streaming platform has been mixed, at best, but the company has started to invest in exclusive titles. That includes the latest from Robot Entertainment, so here’s hoping we’ll get details on the Orcs Must Die 3 release date.

SUMMER GAME FEST DEVELOPER SHOWCASE

When is it? – July 20 (time TBC)

Where is it? – Twitch and YouTube

What is it? – A Geoff Keighley and Day of the Devs-produced look at “upcoming independent and larger scale projects”. That’s the only detail we have so far.

Bandai Namco Play Anime Live

When is it? – July 22 at 16:00 PDT / 19:00 EDT / July 23 at midnight BST

Where is it? – Twitch and YouTube

What is it? – An event focused on the “anime and gaming fan communities”. There are very few concrete details just yet, but we’re expecting some trailers and showcases for upcoming, anime-infused titles. Games like Scarlet Nexus and Tales of Arise – plus, undoubtedly, some Goku – are more likely than Elden Ring.

Inside Xbox First-Party showcase

When is it? – July 23 at 9:00 PDT / 12:00 EDT / 17:00 BST.

Where is it? – Twitch and YouTube

What is it? – This event will be Microsoft’s big coming-out party for the Xbox Series X and its slate of upcoming first-party titles. We’re sure to see a whole lot more on the next Halo – perhaps even the Halo Infinite release date – but there’s plenty more on the Microsoft slate, including the new Flight Simulator, Age of Empires 4, Hellblade 2, and Battletoads. Microsoft says all 15 of its first-party studios are working on next-gen games. (Here’s hoping this event will turn all those Fable 4 rumours into reality.)

Tennocon 2020

When is it? – August 1 at 8:00 PDT / 11:00 EDT / 16:00 BST

Where is it? – Twitch and YouTube

What is it? – The annual Warframe fan event obviously won’t have an in-person component this year, but Digital Extremes is still bringing together the show. Expect plenty of details on upcoming Warframe content.

QuakeCon at home

When is it? – August 7 through August 9 (time TBC)

Where is it? – Twitch and YouTube

What is it? – A set of “livestreams, tournaments, charity fundraising, and a few fun secrets”. It remains to be seen whether there will be any big announcements here, but Bethesda often offers up some showcases for upcoming titles as part of the annual convention – though whether that changes as the event goes online-only remains to be seen.

DC Fandome

When is it? – August 22 at 10:00 PDT / 13:00 EDT / 18:00 BST

Where is it? – The DC FanDome website

What is it? – This 24-hour event will bring a load of details on DC media ranging from comics to movies, TV, and yes – games. Long-rumoured titles like WB Montreal’s Gotham Knights and Rocksteady’s Suicide Squad are expected to finally make their debut here, though they’ve yet to be confirmed.

Gamescom 2020: Opening Night Live

When is it? – August 27 (time TBC)

Where is it? – Twitch and YouTube

What is it? – This Geoff Keighley-hosted show will mark the conclusion of the Summer Game Fest and – probably – the whole not-E3 season. Opening Night Live will be the most notable event to watch – last year’s show featured everything from Kerbal Space Program 2 to early details on Borderlands 3, Modern Warfare, and Death Stranding.

GamesCom 2020

When is it? – August 28 through August 30

Where is it? – TBC

What is it? – Once the big announcements at Opening Night Live are out of the way, Gamescom will follow up with three days of digital showcases for upcoming content. That’ll include daily shows, an ‘Awesome Indies’ showcase, and a Best of Show presentation to cap off the event.

UBISOFT FORWARD (September)

When is it? – September 10 at 12:00 PDT / 15:00 EDT / 20:00 BST

Where is it? – TwitchYouTube, and Ubisoft.com/Forward

What is it? – Another showcase of Ubisoft games, following July’s similar event. The company says we can expect news on “games like Watch Dogs: Legion, Hyper Scape, and Rainbow Six Siege, as well as a much-anticipated update on our new IP, Immortals Fenyx Rising, formerly known as Gods & Monsters, and more yet-to-be revealed surprises”.

Game devs of color expo

When is it? – September 19 through 20

Where is it? – Online, via a “private online conference space that supports conversations between attendees” (you can purchase or apply for tickets on Eventbrite here)

What is it? – A weekend-long expo where “new and experienced game developers will share, learn, and connect in unique ways.” You can expect plenty of dev talks and interviews, as well as panel events, games, an award ceremony, and more. Plus, there will be some “exclusive developer interviews” shown on Steam with a showcase called ‘Gradient Convergence’.

2K Reveals

When is it? – Your guess is as good as ours

Where is it? – Twitch

What is it? – Buried in a Twitch blog post, it seems the streaming service will host a handful of reveals on 2K’s 2020 lineup. Those are the only details we’ve got so far.

IGDA Indie showcase

When is it? – TBC

Where is it? – Twitch

What is it? – The International Game Developers Association and Twitch are joining forces for a showcase of new content from indie studios, including deep dives and community Q&A sessions with the developers.

Best PC hardware deals today
Product Image 1
$689.00
View
Product Image 2
$129.99
$89.99
View
Product Image 3
$49.99
$29.99
View
Back to Navigation