We may earn a commission when you buy through links in our articles. Learn more.

How to unlock Remnant 2 dual archetypes

It takes some decisive action to choose your first archetype in Remnant 2, but you can always keep a second in mind for when you unlock dual archetypes.

How do you unlock dual archetypes in Remnant 2? As you discover trait points via defeating bosses and discovering tomes of knowledge throughout the world, you can soon unlock the ability to create dual archetypes.

Of course, accessing the Remnant 2 dual archetype system is only the beginning; you still need to unlock additional archetypes before you can use them. Each one also benefits from different Remnant 2 weapons and mods, opening up bold new synergies and possibilities. If you’re feeling spoiled for choice, check out our Remnant 2 classes tier list to get a better idea of your preferred playstyle – but for now, here’s everything you need to know about dual archetypes in Remnant 2.

Remnant 2 dual archetypes: a screen shows the materials needed to craft an archetype engram

How to unlock dual archetypes

Here’s how to unlock dual archetypes in Remnant 2:

  • Defeat bosses
  • Discover Tomes of Knowledge
  • Collect ten trait points
  • Buy your preferred engram from a merchant in Ward 13
  • Collect ten Lumenite crystals and 1,000 scrap
  • Speak to Wallace to craft the archetype engram
  • Slot it into your character screen

By defeating Remnant 2 bosses and discovering Tomes of Knowledge you’ll quickly collect ten trait points, which are then used to unlock the dual archetypes system. Following this, decide which of the archetypes you’d like to select as your second one and retrieve the crafting material required to create their engram.

Here are all the dual archetype crafting materials and their locations:

Archetype Item Location
Alchemist Mysterious Stone Manticora’s Lair, Losomn
Archon Strange Box TBA, The Labyrinth
Challenger Old Metal Tool Purchase from Reggie in Ward 13
Engineer Alien Device The Eon Vault, N’Erud
Explorer Broken Compass Blackened Citadel, Root Earth
Gunslinger Worn Cylinder Listen to all of Mudtooth’s stories in Ward 13
Handler Broken Whistle Purchase from Mudtooth in Ward 13
Hunter Rusty Medal Purchased from Brabus in Ward 13
Invader Wooden Shiv Corrupted Harbor, Root Earth
Medic Medic Pin Purchase from Dr. Norah in Ward 13
Summoner Faded Grimoire Bloodmoon Altar, Yaesha

Using this crafting material, ten Lumenite, and 1,000 scrap you can craft the archetype engram via speaking to Wallace, which can then be slotted into your character screen to begin using the second archetype.

When dual archetypes are equipped, you’ll receive an even 50/50 split of EXP to each archetype. If you prefer this not to be the case, just unequip your second archetype. We don’t recommend doing so though – the build versatility you can achieve with dual archetypes is way too fun.

Remnant 2 dual archetypes: A screen shows the die hard soldier, with the two archetypes of hunter and challenger

Can you change archetype?

Yes, you can change your base archetype in Remnant 2. The bad news is that it’s not cheap, and your archetype progress is non-transferable.

Just like equipping your second archetype, take the item to Wallace to craft an archetype engram to change your base archetype. You can then equip that item in the character menu to change archetype. Beware, though, that this resets your progress to power level 1.

How do Prime perks work?

The archetype in your first slot gains a Prime perk, but your secondary class does not have access to a Prime perk. You may want to play with the combination of archetypes depending on your preferred Prime perk to ensure you’re using the one you find the most useful.

Here are the Prime perks for each archetype in Remnant 2:

  • Alchemist – Spirited: The Alchemist has 1 additional Concoction buff active.
  • Challenger – Die Hard: Upon taking fatal damage, the Challenger brushes off death and returns to battle.
  • Engineer – High Tech: Holding the Skill button will overclock a carried or deployed Heavy Weapon. Overclocking grants infinite ammo, increased fire rate, and a 25% damage increase for 15 seconds.
  • Explorer – Lucky: Grants a 10% chance to spawn additional items and rarer drops when dealing with strong enemies.
  • Gunslinger – Loaded: Activating a Gunslinger skill instantly reloads both firearms and grants infinite ammo for a short period of time.
  • Handler – Bonded: When the Handler is downed, their companion will attempt to revive them.
  • Hunter – Dead to Rights: The Hunter can extend the duration of their active skills by dealing ranged weakspot damage.
  • Invader – Shadow: Casting an Invader skill leave a decoy for three seconds, which draws enemy fire. Deal 5% additional damage to enemies not targeting the Invader.
  • Medic – Regenerator: The Medic regenerates additional relic charges by healing themselves and allies.
  • Summoner – Ruthless: When the Summoner deals damage to their minion, it causes them to Enrage. Minions gain 30% increased damage, attack speed, and movement speed. Lasts 20 seconds.

That’s all you need to know about dual archetypes in Remnant 2. If you’re struggling to progress no matter which archetype you choose, you might want to take a look at how to change your Remnant 2 difficulty to make things a bit easier on yourself, or dip into Remnant 2 co-op to get assistance from friends and others in the community. Finally, check out our Remnant 2 review for our own experience traveling the realms.